SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 14, 2012, 02:25 PM
India
Joined Feb 2006
105 Posts
Discussion
Fibre glass Epoxy sheet vs Carbon fibre sheet for multirotor centre plates..

I have been building and flying multirotors for 3 years but I have never used carbon fiber sheets for center plates of the frame ..

I have always used glass fiber epoxy sheets 1mm ..
Can someone please tell me what will be the difference if I use the 1mm carbon fiber sheets instead...
How light and strong will it be from the glass fiber epoxy sheets , also is it worth according to the price difference...
joy4u is offline Find More Posts by joy4u
to remove ads between posts
Old May 14, 2012, 03:17 PM
manual flying apologist
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,943 Posts
1mm CF is thin...... i have found 1.5mm CF is better (IMO)

really CF is more stiff in comparison to G10 at the same thickness

But CG is more brittle and cracks when G10 will bend

Rusty's Frame plates (G10) are basically unbreakable.... but they are not super stiff...
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Old May 14, 2012, 04:34 PM
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
5,956 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joy4u View Post
How light and strong will it be from the glass fiber epoxy sheets , also is it worth according to the price difference...
Think of the analogy between one pound of lead versus one pound of feather. Is there any weight difference? No. So one piece of carbon the same size as one piece of G10 fiberglass probably are very similar in weight. However the carbon plate will be stiffer.