SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 13, 2012, 04:02 PM
Joined May 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
Blade 450 3d take off issue

I am new to the heli side of the sport. I have extensive experience with fixed wing and racing cars. However; as i power up and begin lift off with my Blade 450 3d, it continues to try to nose over to the right before i can gain enough altitude to hover. Do I just need to man up and gain altitude quicker or can I trim out of this issue? Thanks for any input.
diveh2omike is offline Find More Posts by diveh2omike
to remove ads between posts
Old May 13, 2012, 05:36 PM
Committed heli addict...
Joined Jan 2010
675 Posts
You have no prior experience with heli's? If so, you are going to have a very hard time learning to fly starting off with a collective pitch heli. They completely lack the self stabilization of a coaxial or a fixed pitch heli. You will have better luck standing on a bowling ball to get around than flying a collective pitch successfully on the first few flights. It can be done, that's how I learned to fly a heli, but you will crash a lot and the fun is removed from the whole experience.

As long as you verified that all the functions of the heli work correctly, you should be able to get to a hover. A collective pitch requires continuous input on the sticks just to hover. There is no letting go or relaxing the sticks, because there's all kinds of forces and counter forces acting on the heli at all times. It will not simply lift up off the ground in a straight line and hover in place without effort.
phoenixheli is offline Find More Posts by phoenixheli
Old May 13, 2012, 05:38 PM
Crash and Burn
Joined Sep 2011
678 Posts