HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 01, 2012, 04:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
Video telemetry is working in the bench.

Have yet to fine tune it.
Great! Can you send more bytes compared to audio telemetry?
Should there be much more telemetry sensors that needed to be beamed down could you use all TV lines instead of video picture (if you didn't want to fpv, but uav).

-Phil
stupsi99 is offline Find More Posts by stupsi99
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 01, 2012, 05:53 PM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stupsi99 View Post
Great! Can you send more bytes compared to audio telemetry?
Should there be much more telemetry sensors that needed to be beamed down could you use all TV lines instead of video picture (if you didn't want to fpv, but uav).

-Phil
Yes.

Also Yes, but you have to put a cover over the camera lens to be able to fill the lines of the black image with telemetry pulses.
jalves is online now Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 04:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
14 Posts
Nice.

Is there a way to do it without the camera?
stupsi99 is offline Find More Posts by stupsi99
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 05:39 PM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
Yes,
Study the PAL TV system, know how it works and program a arduino to output a Hsync and Vsync signals.

But then you could also improvise and build your own coding and decoding and own hardware.

A cheap camera is the easiest way to do it
jalves is online now Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 09:29 AM
Registered User
Grzechu's Avatar
Poland
Joined Jun 2008
90 Posts
I attached a Led to TX and it works (light when GPS has fix).

I connected TX to RX via cabel. I have no connected servos now, only LED and button in RX.
What I did:
- I connected arduino TX to RX (led in RX was lighting continuosly) in my room (GPS outside the window)
- I checked TX - it has fix
- I push the button in RX
- I watched serial monitor in RX side

And I hve something like this:



Is it good received data? But why is alt, lat, lon = 0?

So what now?
Grzechu is offline Find More Posts by Grzechu
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 09:56 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
Grzechu,

I already told you to choose only ONE print command in order to facilitate the analysis of the output.

It seems from the image above that the packages are arriving to the Rx arduino all corrupted, thus the Checksum Mismatch!! warning.

This lead to the other problem, if the package arrive corrupted, the software do not use the package to extract lat, lon, alt, thus they are equal to zero in the print out.

In the Tx sketch, in the String applet you should maintain the comments:
//stringOne += time;
//stringOne += ",";
//stringOne +=date;
//stringOne += ",";

In the Rx sketch, maintain the comments to the print commands

You should start simple and try a print command each time.

Now the question is why the corruption of the PWM out with direct connection through wires???

Tell me, you are using both arduinos with 5V version, correct?
jalves is online now Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 12:36 PM
Registered User
Grzechu's Avatar
Poland
Joined Jun 2008
90 Posts
I have arduino nano 5/3.3V adjustable, but I use it in 5V and arduino uno for RX.

You say 'maintain the comments" - You mean that I sholud disable that? InTX there is default disabled.

In RX sholud be enable only 1 printing, so wchich is the most useful? pak_decoded?
Grzechu is offline Find More Posts by Grzechu
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 12:59 PM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
in Rx start with
print_string_buf();
//print_pak_decoded();
//print_track_data();
//print_servo();

If string_buf doesn't arrive as it should, all the rest can't do what we want it to do.

What is the result of print_string_buf() function?
jalves is online now Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:20 PM
Registered User
Grzechu's Avatar
Poland
Joined Jun 2008
90 Posts
I think I know what was wrong. I attached earlier LCD 4x20. Now, when I use Your original software it works without mismatch.
Something like this.


I have 2 questions:
1. In that case, directly connection, when I press the button it is do nothing... Whan sholud be?

2. Could You tell me where my software about LCD is bad? LCD is works, but lcd+ antenna tracker dont (as You see).

I have defines with Your defines in main program
int rssiPin = 0;
float rssiAnalog;
float rssiVolt;
float rssiPercent;
float it;
float oldit;
float z;

Then I have that in void loop();

Code:
rssiAnalog = analogRead(rssiPin); // get input
  rssiVolt = rssiAnalog/216.5;
  lcd.setCursor(6, 0);
  lcd.print(rssiVolt, 2);
  rssiPercent = 100-(rssiVolt * 25.3);
  it = 20-(rssiVolt * 4.94);
  
    if (rssiPercent <= 0) {
    lcd.setCursor(15, 0); // set cursor for spaces
    lcd.print("   "); //print spaces
    lcd.setCursor(18, 0); // set cursor
    lcd.print("0"); //print percentage
    lcd.setCursor(19, 0); // set cursor for % sign
    lcd.print("%"); // print the % sign
  }

  if (rssiPercent <= 10  && rssiPercent >= 1) {
    lcd.setCursor(15, 0); // set cursor for spaces
    lcd.print("   "); //print spaces
    lcd.setCursor(18, 0); // set cursor for percentage
    lcd.print(rssiPercent, 0); //print percentage
    lcd.setCursor(19, 0); // set cursor for % sign
    lcd.print("%"); // print the % sign
  }

  if (rssiPercent >= 10 && rssiPercent < 100) {
    lcd.setCursor(15, 0); // set cursor for spaces
    lcd.print("   "); //print spaces
    lcd.setCursor(17, 0); // set cursor for percentage
    lcd.print(rssiPercent, 0); //print percentage
    lcd.setCursor(19, 0); // set cursor for % sign
    lcd.print("%"); // print the % sign
  }

  if (rssiPercent >= 100) {
    lcd.setCursor(14, 0); // set cursor for spaces
    lcd.print(" "); //print spaces
    lcd.setCursor(16, 0); // set cursor for percentage
    lcd.print(rssiPercent, 0); //print percentage
    lcd.setCursor(19, 0); // set cursor for % sign
    lcd.print("%"); // print the % sign
  }
  
  
    if (it > oldit) { // check if the number changes to a higher number
    for (z = 0; it >= z; z++) { // count up from 0 to 15
      lcd.setCursor(z, 1); // start at the bottom left and work forward
      lcd.write(1023); // show a block
    }
  }

  if (it <= oldit) { // check if the number changed to a smaller number
    for (z = 19; it <= z; z--) { //count down from 15 to 0
      lcd.setCursor(z, 1); // start at the bottom right and work back
      lcd.write(1022); // show blank
    }
  }

  oldit = it;  
  delay(50); //add a little delay to smoove it out
   
  lcd.setCursor(7,2);
   lcd.print("N");
   lcd.setCursor(14,2);
   lcd.print("E");
 
   lcd.setCursor(0,2);
   lcd.print(current_loc.lat,2);
  
   lcd.setCursor(8,2);
   lcd.print(current_loc.lng,2);
   /*
   lcd.setCursor(0,3);
   lcd.print("Wysokosc:");
   lcd.setCursor(9,3);
   lcd.print(current_loc.lat);
   lcd.setCursor(14,3);
   lcd.print("");
 */
Grzechu is offline Find More Posts by Grzechu
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 06:22 PM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
The problem could be due to the delays and teh extra if-then cycles in the loop function.

Try to poll out the output to the lcd (1 message each 2 or 3 seconds) and keep the loop small.
jalves is online now Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 07:29 PM
Registered User
Grzechu's Avatar
Poland
Joined Jun 2008
90 Posts
OK, I'll try less refresh.

Can I use all pins except pins for servos, button and led? I ask, because in software I found:
pinMode(13,OUTPUT); // PB5 - SCK - Yellow LED pin - INPUT Throttle //passei para Output

And I don't know what is it...

And I ask again about button. Is it normal that if I push it, there is nothing happens? (Direct connections, without servos.
Grzechu is offline Find More Posts by Grzechu
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 08:12 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
It is a reminder to know that the pin13 change from input to output.

The purpose of the external button is to define the flight window (center the antenna in the flight main direction) when you use a 360 winch servo for PAN.

Read again the instructions for the ground pre-flight setup.
jalves is online now Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 10:21 AM
Registered User
Grzechu's Avatar
Poland
Joined Jun 2008
90 Posts
I tried wireless test. But there is only "ready to fly, ready to work hard". And nothing else... I use FOX800, maybe it invert the signal? How could I check it and how to fix it (I don't know even what it does mean - "invert audio signal".

in RX I connected GND from audio, power (receiver) and from 100kOhm resistor to one point (GND in arduino).
Grzechu is offline Find More Posts by Grzechu
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:31 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,641 Posts
Can't help you, I only have airwave modules in my video equipment.

I know that most of the chinese cheap video Tx/Rx invert the pulses in the audio signal, each means that if this is the case, you have to build an inverter and put it before the Arduino Rx.

I will see if someone can borrow me one of those video Tx/Rx to see if we can do something in the software to remedy the problem with those Tx/Rx.
jalves is online now Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:50 AM
Registered User
Grzechu's Avatar
Poland
Joined Jun 2008
90 Posts
Maybe You know how Can i built the inverter?
Grzechu is offline Find More Posts by Grzechu
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! LRS/UHF/XPS for Aurora 9, and 1.3ghz Antenna Tracker. Eagleeyes or Skylark? daign FPV Talk 2 May 17, 2012 04:36 PM
Sold 360 Servo for (Antenna Tracker or PAN).....NEW crd FPV Equipment (FS/W) 1 Apr 15, 2012 06:39 PM
Sold RVGS Antenna Tracker scrape FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 01, 2012 12:18 AM
Sold Antenna Pan/Tilt for Antenna Tracker w/ MG Servos imagebuff FPV Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 20, 2012 03:26 AM
Sold Servo City Heavy Duty Pan / Tilt for antenna tracker w EZ Antenna Tracker thefokker FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Sep 08, 2011 08:53 AM