HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 28, 2012, 07:47 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,055 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
...
I do the same test again in 'Setting State', aka Init setup.
No FC control, just direct TX throttle to motors.
No shaking, shake indicator on the gcs less than 10.
...
This shows that the FC is inducing the shaking.
Is my reasoning correct?
What exactly is less then 10 on the shake indicator? Shake at 10 is A LOT of vibrations and might cause problems with the IMU. You really want to try and get that number as low as possible. Even my big octo with 15" propellers hover with shake as low as 2 with just short dips up into 3 when I punch the throttle.
jab is online now Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 28, 2012, 08:07 AM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
286 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post

-
Just watched the pic of your install and wow what a mess. I think you should reinstall all and hard mount IMU to the middle of the frame without vibration dampening plate. I'm 99% sure it will fix your problem. And also try to mount IMU also vertically as close to CoG as possible, so "bottom" plate might be better.
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 08:55 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KariY View Post
Just watched the pic of your install and wow what a mess. I think you should reinstall all and hard mount IMU to the middle of the frame without vibration dampening plate. I'm 99% sure it will fix your problem. And also try to mount IMU also vertically as close to CoG as possible, so "bottom" plate might be better.
I agree....I learnt a long time ago that the IMU on nearly all systems should more or less be at the same level as the props.

The other thing is the pad provided to support the IMU is too spongy and should not be used, and the IMU should be mounted on double sided tape. You can see in the pic how the IMU is leaning to one side. This has been mentioned a number of times in various threads, however, I suppose that ZeroUAV still keep on supplying it, so the user will still continue using it. The dealers should educate their customers though.

One other thing, I think the GPS is too close to the rest of the electronics. I suggest that you use the post that came with the YS-X6

Rob
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 09:09 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,055 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KariY View Post
Just watched the pic of your install and wow what a mess. I think you should reinstall all and hard mount IMU to the middle of the frame without vibration dampening plate. I'm 99% sure it will fix your problem. And also try to mount IMU also vertically as close to CoG as possible, so "bottom" plate might be better.
KariY is correct. I only read your text and did not really look at the picture. I suspect the foam you are using is to flexible, so that the entire IMU unit is wobbling. The IMU has internal vibration dampening, so try mounting it directly on the frame.
jab is online now Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 09:31 AM
Registered User
Salocin's Avatar
Joined Aug 2012
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jab View Post
KariY is correct. I only read your text and did not really look at the picture. I suspect the foam you are using is to flexible, so that the entire IMU unit is wobbling. The IMU has internal vibration dampening, so try mounting it directly on the frame.
I use gyro gel to mount my IMU and it works good.
Salocin is offline Find More Posts by Salocin
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 01:27 PM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
286 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salocin View Post
I use gyro gel to mount my IMU and it works good.
I tested gyro gel also but ended up hardmounting it with double side tape + ziptie to secure it firmly. If any difference was notable it only got slightly better. Internal dampening should be efficient enough, if it's not then there is something else wrong, too much motor/prop vibrations etc. My vibration levels are normally 0-1 and max 2 in peaks.
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 03:34 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Yes, it could be cleaner
Long term plan was to make it weather proof so I can fly it in rain.
So still proof of concept stage.

I tried hard mounting with foam tape/gyro gel before but the shake was too high.
It was my first frame build with no balancing and optimisation.

Will try it again now that I have done all I can.
Balanced props.
Dynamically balanced on motor.

I do look forward to the day I can build a frame with such low shake values


GPS close, I thought so too.
But it is still gertting good lock, better than my Garmen eTrex

Thanks all for the tips.
Will post results.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 08:08 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Relocated imu and tidied up the cabling a little.
You can see the rubber gromets I used to isolate the gimbal and top tray.
Hopefully they help.





Looks like my effort with dynamic prop balancing paid off.
And putting the motors under arms to reduce prop wash vibration.
Shake is now down to 2, peaking at 5.

mmmuummm humble pie.
Thanks guys
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 11:56 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
4,960 Posts
it's the dji arms that make it shake.... not so much your build... that frame is bad for vibrations.

Steve

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
Yes, it could be cleaner
Long term plan was to make it weather proof so I can fly it in rain.
So still proof of concept stage.

I tried hard mounting with foam tape/gyro gel before but the shake was too high.
It was my first frame build with no balancing and optimisation.

Will try it again now that I have done all I can.
Balanced props.
Dynamically balanced on motor.

I do look forward to the day I can build a frame with such low shake values


GPS close, I thought so too.
But it is still gertting good lock, better than my Garmen eTrex

Thanks all for the tips.
Will post results.
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2012, 07:42 PM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
sydney, downunder
Joined Jan 2011
1,663 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
it's the dji arms that make it shake.... not so much your build... that frame is bad for vibrations.

Steve
I've tested DJI F450 and F550 frame with YS-X6, the FC handled the vibes well.
fajar is offline Find More Posts by fajar
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2012, 03:18 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,055 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar View Post
I've tested DJI F450 and F550 frame with YS-X6, the FC handled the vibes well.
Yes, the YS-X6 should fly the F550 pretty well with default settings. And while the DJI frames are far from ideal, they (and Hobbyking OEM version) are well suited for lowering the price of experiments that have a high chance of not ending all that well.

ZeroUAV YS-X6 test flight (2 min 56 sec)
jab is online now Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2012, 03:24 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
I asked about the RPM sensors.
ie.
http://zerouav.net/productmore.aspx?id=82
"ONITOR MOTOR ROTATION SPEED
When your are using S-Bus, if the channel C8?A?E?T?R?C5 is empty, the speed sensor can be inserted. In "Data" of GCS, it displays the accurate rotation speed of each motor, to monitor the efficiency and balance of multirotor."

The sensor is not available on it's own.
Only as part of a complete package.
Customized or Professional version.
My guess is it is most likely just an optical pwm input.?
Will test and report back.


On another note, Current sensors for all.
RRP us$111 from ZeroUAV
- -

I understand the need to recoup R&D by marking up the price of hardware.
But at least do it on something that is not easily replicated.
ACS758LCB-100U-PFF-T
http://www.allegromicro.com/Products...Cs/ACS758.aspx
#originally linked to 200A version. 40mv/A 100A version is what is used.

DIY for $10 worth of parts
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Last edited by Mr_westie; Nov 14, 2012 at 02:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2012, 07:43 PM
Registered User
Reginak's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
405 Posts
Just a test here in Brazil.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nPPP6kfCS4
Reginak is offline Find More Posts by Reginak
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2012, 07:54 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
Another great video.

Can we expect some Olympic coverage when it comes around?
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2012, 08:30 PM
Registered User
Salocin's Avatar
Joined Aug 2012
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reginak View Post
Just a test here in Brazil.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nPPP6kfCS4
Awsome.
Salocin is offline Find More Posts by Salocin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 09:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 09:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Talk 13 Mar 28, 2012 11:28 PM