HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:57 AM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHeliRC View Post
New PC software.

http://gothelirc.com/ys/ysx6mainpage.html

To use the map without internet, here's the step.

1. Open the PC software with internet connected.
2. Go to View > Fly To eg > Enter in your state country or state abbreviation. Or if your GPS is lock in, go to View > Focus on aircraft.
3. Click on the little red Flag and flag and save the location you want to fly.
4. Once you are at the field, open the PC software, go to View > Nav POS bar > Flag view.

New firmware

- Faster auto take off.
- Manual mode is more stable
- No need to Enable Control for follow me. Simply click on Folow Me in AutoHover mode.
- No longer need to "disable RC" for auto take off
Is this only for users in US or is it working with all units everywhere?

Kari
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:58 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redridinghood View Post
I am using this battery operated router:
http://uk.tp-link.com/products/detai...odel=TL-MR3040

Setup was easy and I get a range of 80-100 meters in a battery operated router the size of a slim pack of cigarettes. I just Velcro it on the back of my tablet.

When the YS-X6 matures a bit I will add the 900mhz link and be done with it.
I use a wrt54gs which sits on top of my car and connected to the battery. I intend looking at improving the range with antennas soon, however the range as it is is good enough for my requirements atm.
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 01:02 AM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redridinghood View Post
One thing most people fail to realize is the the phone cannot be a hotspot and a client at the same time. Even if your phone is configured as a hotspot you need a second device as a client to use the YS-X6 ground station.
Don't know if i understood it right but i'm using MyWi hotspot app in iphone and only using iphone in field setting up. Works very well but drains much battery from phone. When i try waypoints and other advanced stuff i surely will put router powered by 3s lipo.
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 01:06 AM
Suspended Account
Australia, NSW, Albury
Joined Jun 2012
23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redridinghood View Post
I am using this battery operated router:
http://uk.tp-link.com/products/detai...odel=TL-MR3040

Setup was easy and I get a range of 80-100 meters in a battery operated router the size of a slim pack of cigarettes. I just Velcro it on the back of my tablet.

When the YS-X6 matures a bit I will add the 900mhz link and be done with it.
Nice unit. I think I'll get one.
wmedia is offline Find More Posts by wmedia
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jun 26, 2012, 01:28 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
So is it possible to use my iphone (not jail broken) to create the hot spot and then use the tablet?

Thanks guys!

edit... looks like the answer is no... at least in my case.. I have a 3GS and my options are blue tooth or usb connection for hot spot...



Quote:
Originally Posted by redridinghood View Post
One thing most people fail to realize is the the phone cannot be a hotspot and a client at the same time. Even if your phone is configured as a hotspot you need a second device as a client to use the YS-X6 ground station.
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Last edited by saabguyspg; Jun 26, 2012 at 01:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 01:46 AM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
So is it possible to use my iphone (not jail broken) to create the hot spot and then use the tablet?

Thanks guys!

edit... looks like the answer is no... at least in my case.. I have a 3GS and my options are blue tooth or usb connection for hot spot...
With mywi app you can, but needs jailbreak though. Why not jailbraking it, 3GS should work fine then also as a only unit if you don't want carry all the gadgets to field.
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 01:49 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
yes this is really adding up to a whole bunch of crap in the field.... I have enough to carry

So just to get this clear.... I need to do the following

1) jailbreak my phone
2) install an app that allows me to use the phone as a hot spot
3) connect the X6 to the phone hot spot

now can I use either the phone OR the tablet if I connect the tablet too?

man this is way more complex than it needs to be.

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:22 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
yes this is really adding up to a whole bunch of crap in the field.... I have enough to carry

So just to get this clear.... I need to do the following

1) jailbreak my phone
2) install an app that allows me to use the phone as a hot spot
3) connect the X6 to the phone hot spot

now can I use either the phone OR the tablet if I connect the tablet too?

man this is way more complex than it needs to be.

Steve

Hi Steve

I also don't like to carry too much stuff around. So at the moment when I fly I have my Android Tab which was bought to use with the YS-X6, my TX and my Hexa. The powerful router is connected to the car battery and sits on top of the car which is never more than 20m away from where I am standing. And that is it. Simple.

It makes it easier just to get a dedicated router and they are reasonably cheap.

Cheers
Rob
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:30 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
ok I had a router laying around here.... I have the X6 connected to it and the tablet connected to it as well..

I have a solid blue light on the wifi modem (onboard the X6) and I have the tablet connected to the router as well....

however I dont have any data on the tablet yet...

any thoughts as to what I missed?

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
565 Posts
i am using an old wrt54g with 3s lipo works great.
rwijnhov is offline Find More Posts by rwijnhov
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:37 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
one thing I noticed is that the light on the main board (the big one that all the rc inputs and esc outputs are on) never goes on... not even for an instant... this worries me that something is not connected inside...

steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:38 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
If you go to the Data Tab on the YS-X6 software does it not show anything streaming from the WifI Module?

On the Parameters Tab you have to push "Get" at the bottom of the screen
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:38 AM
Registered User
Finland, Uusimaa, HKI
Joined Jan 2012
291 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
yes this is really adding up to a whole bunch of crap in the field.... I have enough to carry

So just to get this clear.... I need to do the following

1) jailbreak my phone
2) install an app that allows me to use the phone as a hot spot
3) connect the X6 to the phone hot spot

now can I use either the phone OR the tablet if I connect the tablet too?

man this is way more complex than it needs to be.

Steve
Yes. It's the most simple way to do that imo if you just want to set parameters.
KariY is offline Find More Posts by KariY
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:40 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
one thing I noticed is that the light on the main board (the big one that all the rc inputs and esc outputs are on) never goes on... not even for an instant... this worries me that something is not connected inside...

steve
Okay, well that has to be on, so somewhere or other there is a connection problem, so thats why you are not getting any data
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 02:40 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
To ask a simple typical IT question...do you have power going to the board?
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 09:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 09:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Talk 13 Mar 28, 2012 11:28 PM