HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 25, 2012, 10:22 PM
http://gothelirc.com/
GotHeliRC's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Dec 2011
615 Posts
New PC software.

http://gothelirc.com/ys/ysx6mainpage.html

To use the map without internet, here's the step.

1. Open the PC software with internet connected.
2. Go to View > Fly To eg > Enter in your state country or state abbreviation. Or if your GPS is lock in, go to View > Focus on aircraft.
3. Click on the little red Flag and flag and save the location you want to fly.
4. Once you are at the field, open the PC software, go to View > Nav POS bar > Flag view.

New firmware

- Faster auto take off.
- Manual mode is more stable
- No need to Enable Control for follow me. Simply click on Folow Me in AutoHover mode.
- No longer need to "disable RC" for auto take off
GotHeliRC is offline Find More Posts by GotHeliRC
Site Sponsor
Last edited by GotHeliRC; Jun 25, 2012 at 10:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 25, 2012, 10:24 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
sorry redundant post
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Last edited by saabguyspg; Jun 25, 2012 at 10:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:02 PM
Huckfest or bust!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,059 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHeliRC View Post
New PC software.

http://gothelirc.com/ys/ysx6mainpage.html

To use the map without internet, here's the step.

1. Open the PC software with internet connected.
2. Go to View > Fly To eg > Enter in your state country or state abbreviation. Or if your GPS is lock in, go to View > Focus on aircraft.
3. Click on the little red Flag and flag and save the location you want to fly.
4. Once you are at the field, open the PC software, go to View > Nav POS bar > Flag view.

New firmware

- Faster auto take off.
- Manual mode is more stable
- No need to Enable Control for follow me. Simply click on Folow Me in AutoHover mode.
- No longer need to "disable RC" for auto take off
wahoo, I'm a firmware geek


quick question regarding "follow me"

how do you disable it after enabling it?
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:16 PM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
sydney, downunder
Joined Jan 2011
1,663 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryhavoc38 View Post
wahoo, I'm a firmware geek


quick question regarding "follow me"

how do you disable it after enabling it?
Regain control by switching to manual 1 mode.
fajar is offline Find More Posts by fajar
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:18 PM
http://gothelirc.com/
GotHeliRC's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Dec 2011
615 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryhavoc38 View Post
wahoo, I'm a firmware geek


quick question regarding "follow me"

how do you disable it after enabling it?
Click on Follow Me again to disable.
GotHeliRC is offline Find More Posts by GotHeliRC
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:25 PM
Huckfest or bust!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,059 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar View Post
Regain control by switching to manual 1 mode.
Ugh!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHeliRC View Post
Click on Follow Me again to disable.
thats better



ok another question if I may.

Faster auto take off..

With the current firmware, I actually like the throttle "ramp up" to take off power once you go past half throttle.
does this new "faster take off" eliminate the ramp up?
Its too dark now to test the copter..so I was just wondering.
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:28 PM
http://gothelirc.com/
GotHeliRC's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Dec 2011
615 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryhavoc38 View Post
Ugh!


thats better

Only in a panic situation to recover control quickly... but I am sure after you flip it into AutoHover again it will go right back to follow me if you do not disable it... So make sure to remember disable stuff...

Last time I put it into Back Landing and left it in back landing and try to take off, everything is fine, but when I put it into Auto Hover.. freak me out for a moment that I have no control of it... because it's attempting to auto land.

As for the auto take off question... I don't know yet... I haven't test it. I would say they are only talking about Auto take off... not Attitude level take off.

GotHeliRC is offline Find More Posts by GotHeliRC
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:31 PM
Huckfest or bust!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,059 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHeliRC View Post
Only in a panic situation to recover control quickly... but I am sure after you flip it into AutoHover again it will go right back to follow me if you do not disable it... So make sure to remember disable stuff...



Last time I put it into Back Landing and left it in back landing and try to take off, everything is fine, but when I put it into Auto Hover.. freak me out for a moment that I have no control of it... because it's attempting to auto land.

As for the auto take off question... I don't know yet... I haven't test it. I would say they are only talking about Auto take off... not Attitude level take off.




lol, yesterday afternoon, I was in man2 mode and hovering, and then decided to flip to man1 without lowering the throttle...ZOOM it went up, I immediately hit auto hover and lowered the throttle, and the darn thing kept going up for what seemed like an eternity and the thoughts of continuous climb got me a bit worried...but after a few seconds and onset of rapid heart beat, it started to come down again.

ok, Auto Take off, as in the feature button. Ok thanks. I have yet to mess around with that yet.
haven't even used the android "plus pad" for finger control yet.
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:44 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
hi guys another question here... I have a samsung galexy tablet 7.0 I just bought for this.

it has no phone capabilities btw.

I am having trouble understanding how to connect it to the X6

the X6 is powered up and I have a solid blue LED
I also have a light flashing every few seconds... for a few seconds on the wifi module

I know I am supposed to create a hot spot with the wifi but this being just a stand alone tablet I don't think this is possible.. (I don't see this option in the wifi settings at any rate)

I am trying to read the manual on it but... yeah... kinda lacking

any help greatly appreciated!
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:06 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
obviously I am a network dope... give me something to solder

so I can't connect this directly to a tablet that is not using a 3G network or similar?

I was under the impression I could do all my settings from the tab and no internet connection... I don't need a map to set this up.

mmmm sorry apparently I need a lesson in networks.

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:26 AM
Suspended Account
Australia, NSW, Albury
Joined Jun 2012
23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
obviously I am a network dope... give me something to solder

so I can't connect this directly to a tablet that is not using a 3G network or similar?

I was under the impression I could do all my settings from the tab and no internet connection... I don't need a map to set this up.

mmmm sorry apparently I need a lesson in networks.

Steve
Steve, Configure a wifi router to be the YS's network, Name as in manual, and passkey as your serial number. Once the YS-X6 unit connects onto the YS network, then you connect your tab up. Once you've done that you can configure it. You will need a router in the field if using the additional features like waypoints and follow me etc, otherwise you can set up at home, and fly without a router, but since you've got a tablet, im assuming you'll need a router to take out.
wmedia is offline Find More Posts by wmedia
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:36 AM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,040 Posts
oh man... really? that seems really crazy... we seriously have to bring a router to the field?

if that's the case I guess I will take back the tablet and get an android phone....

Thanks for confirming that... all the router talk I read I figured people wanted more range......

now I have to find a router and figure out all that jagen

This is not quite the easy solution I had envisioned... I think a bluetooth module would have been a better idea.

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:41 AM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
sydney, downunder
Joined Jan 2011
1,663 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
oh man... really? that seems really crazy... we seriously have to bring a router to the field?

if that's the case I guess I will take back the tablet and get an android phone....

Thanks for confirming that... all the router talk I read I figured people wanted more range......

now I have to find a router and figure out all that jagen

This is not quite the easy solution I had envisioned... I think a bluetooth module would have been a better idea.

Steve
You can get an app that allows you to create a portable hotspot eventhough your tablet doesnt have 3G. That may require you to root your android device.
fajar is offline Find More Posts by fajar
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
501 Posts
I am using this battery operated router:
http://uk.tp-link.com/products/detai...odel=TL-MR3040

Setup was easy and I get a range of 80-100 meters in a battery operated router the size of a slim pack of cigarettes. I just Velcro it on the back of my tablet.

When the YS-X6 matures a bit I will add the 900mhz link and be done with it.
redridinghood is offline Find More Posts by redridinghood
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 12:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
501 Posts
One thing most people fail to realize is the the phone cannot be a hotspot and a client at the same time. Even if your phone is configured as a hotspot you need a second device as a client to use the YS-X6 ground station.
redridinghood is offline Find More Posts by redridinghood
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 09:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 09:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Talk 13 Mar 28, 2012 11:28 PM