HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 04, 2013, 06:05 AM
Registered User
Philippines, Central Luzon, Marilao
Joined Jun 2008
552 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by apache74 View Post
I hope not, but would be judicious to try and find out.
Don't know how, but it could help to avoid this particular crash cause to all of us in the future.
Question to all who had a similar issue, in order to start tracking a possible bug:
With which FW version did it happen to you? 2012-10-22 or 2012-11-14?
im at 2012-10-22

this system is really starting to be frustrating. IMO this kind of issues should not be present in a 1000usd system.

By the way can does anybody have acceptable values for

xekf velx
xekf vely
xekf veld

GPS Velx

GPS Vely
???

I just reviewed my my last flight data during my crash

my xekf values was within -30 and 30 but when I landed it shoot up to 1000+ this is quite weird since this happened already at ground touch down... this is really frustrating.
rukie is online now Find More Posts by rukie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 04, 2013, 07:18 AM
Registered User
apache74's Avatar
France, RA, Bossey
Joined May 2011
49 Posts
PPM problem
Since PPM is supported, I wanted to try this possibility yesterday with my PPM receiver FrSky V8R7SP (which is working without problems on my Hexa under MWii and MP on a Flyduino Mega FC)
I connected, as recommended in the manual, channel 8 of the YS to the PPm channel of my FrSky,
I selected PPM in the parameters setup of Remote Controll Mode and checked with "get" that the change was registered in the GSC of my android tablet.
I also made a channel calibration again.
But when moving the sticks of my TX (Futaba 9 ZAP) nothing happens in the datas(figures of rudder etc…are not moving.)
Its like the RX doesn't work or doesn't communicate with the YS.
Any idea on what's wrong?
Is the FRSky V8R7SP supported by the FW or not?
Did I do something wrong or forgot something in setup?
apache74 is offline Find More Posts by apache74
Last edited by apache74; Feb 04, 2013 at 07:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 09:17 AM
Registered User
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg
Joined Sep 2010
2,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by apache74 View Post
I hope not, but would be judicious to try and find out.
Don't know how, but it could help to avoid this particular crash cause to all of us in the future.
Question to all who had a similar issue, in order to start tracking a possible bug:
With which FW version did it happen to you? 2012-10-22 or 2012-11-14?
I have had this problem on a number of FC's. If your battery goes low, the power made available for the FC is sometimes not enough and especially if you are coming into land when the draw down from the motors is larger than normal.

So in that instance there is not enough power to make anything work.

What one has to do is manage the power on your battery better.
robone is offline Find More Posts by robone
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 10:17 AM
Registered User
Philippines, Central Luzon, Marilao
Joined Jun 2008
552 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone View Post
I have had this problem on a number of FC's. If your battery goes low, the power made available for the FC is sometimes not enough and especially if you are coming into land when the draw down from the motors is larger than normal.

So in that instance there is not enough power to make anything work.

What one has to do is manage the power on your battery better.
Hi rob thanks for the advice, and for your help in the pm's.

Still cant hide the my frustrations to have these issues on a highly priced system
rukie is online now Find More Posts by rukie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 03:00 PM
YS-X6 Know why it crashes,blog
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Nov 2007
583 Posts
rukie, would like to see the hj file.

Last time mine crashed on landing was due to a fulty esc.
This was on a hex so the effect was obvious.
It shoud not have flipped on an octo.

?Vel? values, depends how you are flying it.
Static on the ground, xekf should be less than +-20

Gently flying, +-400
White lights turn on at +-1000

I know what you mean about an expensive system and ease of use.
Most of the initial frustration could be solved with proper documentation.


sgg05158, would like to see your hj file too.
Zero replaced my set when we found it was a faulty system that caused the crash.
Didn't help with the frame but a te least they stood behind their priduct.
Why it is important to log ALL flights.
The 1 minute playback is handy if the crash was not fatal.
Just remember to be ready to hit playback as soon as the unit is powered up, otherwise it will quickly overwrite that data.


RyanMcCrae, can you make a video of the problem.
Mr_westie is offline Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:05 AM
Registered User
New Zealand, Wellington
Joined Jul 2012
67 Posts
Heres a video showing the problem:
YS-X6 Problem (1 min 27 sec)
RyanMcCrae is offline Find More Posts by RyanMcCrae
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:29 AM
RTF copters maker
maximus-rc's Avatar
South France
Joined Jan 2008
1,186 Posts
Ryan,
You'r ip must be 192.168.1.1
And it is strange that your FC doesn't flash red 3 times on start up....
Cheers
Maximus
maximus-rc is offline Find More Posts by maximus-rc
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 06:32 AM
Registered User
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Oct 2012
150 Posts
Thanks for your support Mr Westie, will be waiting for your analysis.. I have not used the hj files before so I don't know how this can be useful.. Since I am not the not the only one experiencing this issue, I believe this is a bug.. I do hope zerouav stands behind their product as they did to you.. I have already written to zerouav technical and so far no response.. I tried calling them but they are uncontactable maybe due to the coming Chinese New year..

Tim

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_westie View Post
sgg05158, would like to see your hj file too.
Zero replaced my set when we found it was a faulty system that caused the crash.
Didn't help with the frame but a te least they stood behind their priduct.
Why it is important to log ALL flights.
The 1 minute playback is handy if the crash was not fatal.
Just remember to be ready to hit playback as soon as the unit is powered up, otherwise it will quickly overwrite that data.
sgg05158 is offline Find More Posts by sgg05158
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 06:42 AM
Registered User
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Oct 2012
150 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by apache74 View Post
I hope not, but would be judicious to try and find out.
Don't know how, but it could help to avoid this particular crash cause to all of us in the future.
Question to all who had a similar issue, in order to start tracking a possible bug:
With which FW version did it happen to you? 2012-10-22 or 2012-11-14?
I had the 2012-11-28 FW loaded to my YS.. Seems like the later FW is giving us a lot this problem.
I have seen the pattern somehow, when you notice that at GPS hold and it doesn't stay in place, look at your shake values, when your shake values are abnormally high you have to land immediately on GRASS.. expect you copter to charge forward..
sgg05158 is offline Find More Posts by sgg05158
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 08:18 AM
Registered User
United States, NH, Barrington
Joined Sep 2011
248 Posts
[QUOTE=RyanMcCrae;24038598]Heres a video showing the problem:

Try searching available wifi networks. You should see the YS-X6 as one choice. Be sure to use the password (I think it is 1234 but don't remember off hand) listed in the manual. Also, plug in ONLY the flight controller and after it comes up, plug in the ESCs.
Socratic is offline Find More Posts by Socratic
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:15 PM
Registered User
New Zealand, Wellington
Joined Jul 2012
67 Posts
[QUOTE=Socratic;24039866]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanMcCrae View Post
Heres a video showing the problem:

Try searching available wifi networks. You should see the YS-X6 as one choice. Be sure to use the password (I think it is 1234 but don't remember off hand) listed in the manual. Also, plug in ONLY the flight controller and after it comes up, plug in the ESCs.
Is this under the wifi settings in my phone? Because if it is, im connected to ys-x6, as the video showed, the password is: 82890430.

OR are you meaning somewhere else like in the ys-x6 app?
RyanMcCrae is offline Find More Posts by RyanMcCrae
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:38 PM
Registered User
New Zealand, Wellington
Joined Jul 2012
67 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus-rc View Post
Ryan,
You'r ip must be 192.168.1.1
And it is strange that your FC doesn't flash red 3 times on start up....
Cheers
Maximus
It used to flash, thats the weird thing. It just stopped flashing.
I dont know what changed, because i had linked my phone up to ys via wifi, but didnt go through the set up. Then next time I tried a few hours later, nothing no connection, no flashing led. At that point I thought my escs had an issue. but turns out there fine. so flashed ys with firm wear : "YS-X6-20121111-firmware-Enc.arm"

That didnt make a difference
RyanMcCrae is offline Find More Posts by RyanMcCrae
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 04:02 PM
Registered User
United States, NH, Barrington
Joined Sep 2011
248 Posts
[QUOTE=RyanMcCrae;24043557]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socratic View Post

Is this under the wifi settings in my phone? Because if it is, im connected to ys-x6, as the video showed, the password is: 82890430.

OR are you meaning somewhere else like in the ys-x6 app?
Here are the directions from the manual (assuming you have the "n" version:

Communication: Wireless router is no need. After WIFI works, your Phone or
Tablet will search for a wireless network whose name is YS-X6-Serial No.N
(Example: YS-X6-10112N), then please put in the password:12345 and connect
it. If the communication is successful, data will be displayed when GCS is
4
enabled. Please refer to the appendix4 to configurate the Wifi to be ordinary if
your phone cant be compatible with Wifi module whose serial number comes
with N.
Serial number of YS-X6 without
Socratic is offline Find More Posts by Socratic
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 04:06 PM
Helicam Pilot
dollygrip's Avatar
USA, CA, Garden Grove
Joined Feb 2008
71 Posts
Can't get my ysx4 to talk to my dx8
So I'm selling it never used.
$460
Email me at
bonegrip@gmail.com
dollygrip is offline Find More Posts by dollygrip
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 07:06 PM
Registered User
United States, NH, Barrington
Joined Sep 2011
248 Posts
[QUOTE=RyanMcCrae;24043557]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socratic View Post

Is this under the wifi settings in my phone? Because if it is, im connected to ys-x6, as the video showed, the password is: 82890430.

OR are you meaning somewhere else like in the ys-x6 app?
Is your YS-X6 the "N" version with built in wifi? Looks like it as you have the wifi module (though I am not familiar with all versions of this controller). The reason I ask is that I didn't realize that I had the N version when I first hooked things up and (tried) going through a router. When I searched the network on my Android I saw a second address available with the N. Hopped onto that connection, put in the 12345 password and connected. Though reading through your thread, sounds like you may not have the N or just went through the router, as you had the FC connected once. I also didn't think the FC could be connected simultaneously with the esc/motor power. But, like most, I am still learning.
Socratic is offline Find More Posts by Socratic
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 09:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 09:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Talk 13 Mar 28, 2012 11:28 PM