HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 07, 2012, 06:48 PM
United States, IN, Lebanon
Joined Oct 2011
380 Posts
Discussion
How to make perfect wing rib....

Is there a relatively cheap way to make perfect rib every time (scratch built with a pattern)? Mine to seem to be inconsistent as well have nicks... I know back in the day in shop I used a pattern an had some kind of router device that I could just run around the outer edge of the patter an it would cut what ever shape the patter was underneath. Anyways i need to make many spars an would like for them to be all the exact same preferably making many all at once.. a machine? a router way? ???? any???
schusterjo is offline Find More Posts by schusterjo
Last edited by schusterjo; May 08, 2012 at 08:17 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2012, 11:28 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,520 Posts
I dont think you will easily beat what you can get at te LHS for dimensional accuracy across spars. A router is more used for edge design. A table saw would be a better choice but a bit dangerous as your basically shaving 1/4" or whatever size strips off te main piece. Also when you do that you usually end up with some bowing as they cure due to the drying rate of the outside portion of the piece compared to the inside portion.

How many do you need and of what size
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old May 08, 2012, 04:02 AM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,788 Posts
Are you sure you mean spars ? A spar is normally just a long straight piece of wood and as Thermalin says it's much easier just to buy the correct size rather than "make" it.

Steve
slipstick is online now Find More Posts by slipstick
Old May 08, 2012, 08:18 AM
Joined Oct 2011
380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipstick View Post