HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 07, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
28 Posts
Question
ESC only has 2 wires to motor

I was surfing the internet and thought I found a deal that was too good to be true. And... of course it was. The turnigy 20A esc I bought I am now noticing says Brushed. Ouch. So my quick question is whether I could ever get a Brushed ESC to work on a Brushless motor. I'm guessing no.
caseopeia is offline Find More Posts by caseopeia
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 07, 2012, 06:24 PM
Senile Member
Lnagel's Avatar
Moab, Utah, USA
Joined Apr 2003
5,486 Posts
You are guessing correctly, Grasshopper.

Larry
Lnagel is online now Find More Posts by Lnagel
Reply With Quote
Old May 07, 2012, 06:54 PM
Jack
USA, ME, Ellsworth
Joined May 2008
16,339 Posts
Go tell this guy about it, he is looking for brushed ESC and is having trouble finding them:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1646991

Jack
jackerbes is offline Find More Posts by jackerbes
RCG Plus Member
Old May 07, 2012, 08:47 PM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
C₄H₁₀'s Avatar
United States, AK, Fairbanks
Joined Aug 2009
12,267 Posts
How good was this deal, exactly?

Unless they were paying you to take the ESC off your hands, I can't see how you could get much cheaper than the ~20A brushless ESCs already on the market.

Keep the brushed one, though. You can use it to run lights or other things on your planes that need controllable direct current. I've used an 18A brushed ESC to run a bunch of LEDs on a foam flying wing. Turned them on and off with the flap switch. Awesome
C₄H₁₀ is offline Find More Posts by C₄H₁₀
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2012, 03:16 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
9,899 Posts
If you're into building with foam brushed ESCs are quite useful for making hotwire cutters too. Battery, ESC, servo tester and a length of wire and you're pretty much there .

Steve
slipstick is online now Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 03:09 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
1 Posts
Brushed ESC

I did the same thing but with brushless ESCs. i need brushed esc fast!! can i trade you brushed esc for brushless esc?? please reply me at rayyankamal@hotmail.com if it will be possible. thanks.
rak2kamal is offline Find More Posts by rak2kamal
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 06:29 PM
Jack
USA, ME, Ellsworth
Joined May 2008
16,339 Posts
I saw a killer deal on a brushed motor ESC on eBay today. It is a new Turborix 25A brushed ESC for less than $8 shipped:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/150895955533?

Those are great for making hot wire cutters, running variable voltage LED lighting systems, and things like that. Add a cheap servo tester to it and that will let you vary the voltage:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/271015602137?

Jack
jackerbes is offline Find More Posts by jackerbes
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold RTF Pike Perfect-Brand New, Has 2 Test Flights on Grass.. orbitone Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 4 Mar 26, 2012 05:11 PM
Discussion can bl motor be fried by 2 of the 3 motor wires touching stingeragents Power Systems 7 Jan 30, 2012 07:28 AM
Discussion Can Brushless motors run on 2 wires? Can they work without an ESC? Nelatonin Power Systems 35 Jan 07, 2012 12:33 AM
Discussion ESC Wire Length - Better to extend motor wires? nioa Castle Creations 0 Dec 16, 2011 03:40 AM
Discussion Can you series wire 2 brushless ESC's for 4 motor setup. RyanPSU21 Power Systems 4 Oct 26, 2007 04:17 PM