HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 05, 2012, 11:15 PM
United States, CA, Livermore
Joined Jan 2005
129 Posts
Discussion
Question about aileron rudder mix function

This is my first time trying to use aileron and rudder mixed with my radio. I used the mix function on my Spektrum DX7s radio and the resulting control surface directions are as follows:

I move the aileron stick to the right and the right aileron moves up and the rudder moves slightly to the left. Are these the correct directions for mixing these two functions? My initial thought would be that the rudder would need to move right when giving right aileron but I wasn't sure.
Riodiler1 is offline Find More Posts by Riodiler1
to remove ads between posts
Old May 05, 2012, 11:28 PM
United States, OH, Tipp City
Joined Oct 2011
238 Posts
You want the rudder to move to the right in this case. You want the rudder to move towards the same direction as the bank you are inputting. Right bank, right rudder. Left bank, left rudder.

Two things can cause the results you are getting:

1. Your rudder servo is operating in the wrong direction to start with. What does it do when you move the rudder stick to the right? does the rudder move to the right? If not, then that servo needs to be reversed in the transmitter. Then your mix will work the way you intended it to.

If that is operating correctly, then:

2. You are using a negative percentage for your mix. If you crank the percentage up to a positive number, your mix will work the way you intended. (or vice versa. Sometimes, the negative/positive doesn't necessarily mean anything, you just need to roll the scroll button one direction or the other to get the desired results).

Hopefully that all makes sense...ask again if it is still confusing.
aero550 is offline Find More Posts by aero550
Last edited by aero550; May 05, 2012 at 11:43 PM.
Old May 06, 2012, 03:33 AM
London UK
Joined Jul 2004
2,530 Posts
why do you want to do this?