HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 05, 2012, 01:52 AM
Joined May 2012
11 Posts
Discussion
Quadcopter, 1 motor runs a lot faster than other 3

Im attempting to build a quadcopter for the first time using the microchip PIC18. I successfully programmed the 6-amp ESCs using a 1-2ms pulse every 20ms. The only problem is when I try to run all motors, only 1 is as fast as i need it to be, the other 3 are very sluggish and eventually stop altogether even when sending all ESCs the same pulse. Also, other times all 4 motors will seem to go there max speed for a little bit on start up and then quickly level off to a speed that does not lift the copter.

Could it be a battery problem? I'm new to LiPos but the one we are using is a 11.4V 1500mAh 25C battery. The voltage across the battery is very close to 11.4V still even with repeated use.

Any help or suggestions is appreciated!
golden77 is offline Find More Posts by golden77
to remove ads between posts
Old May 05, 2012, 02:39 AM
Emress
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,936 Posts
you should read this and hope that you dont screw up your LiPos(you probably haven't yet). a full charge would help(12.6v)
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
Old May 05, 2012, 05:16 AM
United States, AZ, Scottsdale
Joined Sep 2011
518 Posts
Try to calibrate your throttle range:

1) remove all props
2) connect esc to throttle channel of rx
3) turn tx on, apply full throttle
4) plug in battery and wait for esc to beep
5) reduce throttle to zero and wait for confirmation
6) repeat for each esc

Maybe reflash your ESCs with Simonk firmware
sg1anubis is offline Find More Posts by sg1anubis
Old May 05, 2012, 05:32 AM View Post
sidkof
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Off Topic Advertisement. Show it to me anyway.
Old May 05, 2012, 05:38 AM
Joined Feb 2008
144 Posts