HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 04, 2012, 07:35 PM
Joined Nov 2011
11 Posts
Question
Advice on Circular Hovercraft design.

Hi first of all i'm new to RC so please treat me like an idiot with any reply, ie please do not assume i know what your talking about.

i have been looking around but with so much choice in products i'm hoping someone here can help me narrow my final possible choices.

simply i'm trying to design and build a prototype of a RC hovercraft designed to navigate a maze using an online camera.

so basically speed is not a requirement what i desire is precision control and movement.

for this i envisage a circular design with a diameter of about 30cm (12 inches)

with a lift motor dead center and two EDF brushless motors on either side.

instead of a rudder i plan to steer using the two motors so i can turn on axis i would also like these motors to have reverse capabilities.

the construction may be skirtless with a skidpad type design

what i would like advice on is

LIFT motor
from what i've read an outrunner with a largish prop may be the best. but feel free to advise on what you have found works best.
besides the motors/ esc/ batteries and normal RC stuff the craft will also have camera+ transmitter onboard as well as some other rudimentary electronics. so far i don't have total weight as i havn't brought all the parts yet but some basic advice on what would normally lift something this size would be great.

LIFT esc
want something that simply engages whenever the trust is applied so is only drifting when moving and anchors at other times to save batteries and run time, maybe something that can be adjusted so if more weight is applied it can be bumped up to suit?

Trust motors
as i said this baby is not built for speed just accuracy and will need to have reverse capability, im thinking EDF 55mm units but am having trouble understanding KV especially when most talk online is all about going fast.

trust ESC