HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 04, 2012, 05:08 PM
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Apr 2012
33 Posts
Help!
Nimh battery drain

Hi. I'm fairly new to the world of rc planes. I've had good luck with lipo batteries. I just purchased a Nimh battery and I seem to be having issues with it holding a charge.

I am trying to set up a receiver with two servos. I bought a new Elite 1500 mah Nimh 2/3A battery. When I plug the battery into the receiver and bind the receiver I can get about 30 seconds of operation from the servos before the servos stop moving.

I'm using a Spektrum DX6i and AR6210 receiver.

I have a voltmeter to check the battery. I charge the battery to 6 volts before I connect it to the receiver. After things stop working - as described above - checking the battery shows around 4 volts.

Do I have a bad battery? Am I doing something wrong?
Free fall is offline Find More Posts by Free fall
to remove ads between posts
Old May 04, 2012, 05:30 PM
characters welcome!
United States, CA, Bear Valley Springs
Joined Feb 2000
26,210 Posts
How long are you charging it and at what amp rate? It may be "false peaking" where the charge rate is too high to keep the charger from stopping the charge. The initial charge of a nimh receiver pack should be via your "wall wart" charger that came with your radio overnight after which it can be charged on your fast charger at .5 amps.

mw
Mark Wood is offline Find More Posts by Mark Wood
Old May 04, 2012, 05:30 PM
Expo/DualRates = Lack of Skill
San Diego, CA
Joined Mar 2009
789 Posts
How are you charging the battery?
typeRA is offline Find More Posts by typeRA
Old May 04, 2012, 06:14 PM
Joined Apr 2012
33 Posts
I'm using a Hitec X1 AC Plus charger. I'm no expert in it's use. Maybe I'm not charging the battery long enough.

How can I tell if the battery is fully charged?

Thanks for the help.
Old May 04, 2012, 06:22 PM
Expo/DualRates = Lack of Skill
San Diego, CA
Joined Mar 2009
789 Posts