Old May 01, 2012, 03:42 PM
------------------------
United States, CA, Glendale
Joined Jan 2012
952 Posts
Discussion
3D (stereoscopic) FPV flying and movies

Hi All

I have been flying quads for about four months now so still very new to all of this. I came to the quads from the desire to 'fly virtually' after seeing FPV (juz70 and the like) youtube videos.

I also come from a background of a stereoscopic photographer and film maker (thats 3D with the glasses) and wanted to combine the two.

I have been surprised to find not many people think about flying FPV with stereo vision. It is such a natural fit to me that it seems crazy not to.

After some searching I found the EMR Labs '3D cam FPV'. This unique stereoscopic FPV camera, specifically designed for the task at hand, was exactly what I was looking for. At $330 it is not at the cheap end of the FPV camera range, but well worth it in my opinion.

3D FPV Cam from NG hobbies

The 3D FPV Cam works by combining the left and right eye views into a single 'field sequential' video stream for transmission. Any normal FPV Tx Rx setup will work to send the 3D video. To view the 3D transmission you must have goggles that can work with a 'field sequential' 3D signal like the 'head play' goggles or the EVG920 that I also got from NG hobbies.

EVG920

(3D goggles that expect a side by side 3d image will not work. So do not buy those)

I got it all setup on my quad and 'Hat Station' (see pic) after some earlier experiments. This is all a work in progress of course but I have some videos now of 3D FPV flying.

I would love to hear from any other 3D FPV flyers or answer any questions. I will add new videos to this thread as I make them or find them on youtube. If anyone else has 3D FPV videos or comments please add them.

cheers..phil

Edit:
Quadcopter Spec:
GU-INS flight controller in auto balance mode
Home made wooden frame
Tiger motors - MT 2216-11 900kv
APC 10x4.7 props
Mystery Blue 30A ESC's