HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 01, 2012, 09:22 AM
Monkton, MD
Joined Dec 2003
250 Posts
Discussion
Radio Lockouts at SEFF 2012

I don't want to put blame on any one manufacturer or all the great flyers at SEFF, but I got scared after witnessing several lockouts (including two lockouts for me) and realizing what could have happened if the planes had hit someone. I don't know if it was one particular radio system, or just the fact that there were lots of radios on at any time. I have been flying DSM2 for a couple years with no problems and DSMX for less than year with no problems at my home flying field in northern Maryland, but the shear numbers of radios on at any time at SEFF had to contribute to the problems.

I would like to get everyone's input on your radio system, if you had any radio problems or not, and how much you flew at SEFF to experience what you experienced. Be honest; if you made a mistake a crashed on your own, please don't include that. If you know that you had no response to commands, that is a lockout. Highlite the equipment where you had problems. I would like to narrow down if any equipment had more problems than other.

I will start it out (in the order I flew):

Spectrum DX8, HobbyKing micro 6ch DSM2 receiver - 3 flights on Saturday/Sunday with foamy VTOL - no problems

Spectrum DX8, HobbyKing 6ch orange DSM2 receiver w/ satellite - one flight on Saturday with 13' flying wing - no problem

Spectrum DX7, HobbyKing 6ch orange DSM2 receivers - many flights on two 2-meter flying wings on Saturday - no problems

Spectrum DX8, HobbyKing 6ch orange DSM2 receiver w/ satellite - one flight on 11' flying wing on Saturday - solid lockout turning from base to upwind - no control for > 8 seconds - AV went smack right in front of the pits. This was a large plane with a .60 size outrunner; I am very thankful no one was hurt.