SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:49 PM
Registered User
USA, IN, Wolcott
Joined Oct 2010
29 Posts
Help!
rf6

I just bought real flight 6 sim from H.L. just to find out I dont have near enough computer. Can anyone tell me the best (and cheaper alternitave to replacing my whole system). I checked with my local computer shop, just the tower and graphics card is around $800.00. A bit more than i planed to spend.That would make the cost of running RF6 at $1000.00 just to get started. Any ideas? Thanks all
damhelis is offline Find More Posts by damhelis
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:58 PM
"Landing" in a tree somewhere
Rochester, NY
Joined Sep 2009
946 Posts
Real Flight 6's minimum requirements aren't very high at all. What are the specs of the computer you currently have?

Most prebuilt computers are overpriced. Especially if it's a local computer store. If you're up to it, building your own computer would save you some money. If not then shop around with national retailers and find a nice cheap system then upgrade the power supply and graphics card.
Rayne is offline Find More Posts by Rayne
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 04:15 PM
Fly it like you STOL it!
Endlesslag's Avatar
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Jan 2011
4,063 Posts
Newegg.com is a good place to start shopping for parts. I might be able to help out if you can tell us what you currently have and what your budget would be. I built my computer 5 years ago for $800, and it runs RF6 maxed out flawlessly.
Endlesslag is offline Find More Posts by Endlesslag
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 08:51 PM
Shelter Kitty "Orange Death"
bartricky's Avatar
United States, FL, Monroe
Joined Jan 2008
3,165 Posts
When my self built desktop finally died I bought a $400 laptop with much more power and never looked back...
bartricky is offline Find More Posts by bartricky
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 01:59 PM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
C₄H₁₀'s Avatar
United States, AK, Fairbanks
Joined Aug 2009
12,547 Posts
RF6 should be able to run on your microwave's clock display nowadays... If your computer isn't up to it, chances are you'll be due for an update soon anyway.
C₄H₁₀ is offline Find More Posts by C₄H₁₀
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 03:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
93 Posts
of course!

U could return rf6 and buy another plane
winggunner46 is offline Find More Posts by winggunner46
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 03:42 PM
Registered User
xmech2k's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Jun 2007
2,058 Posts
Or you could return rf6 and look for a used earlier version of rf. They just keep adding bells and whistles, but if you just want to learn to fly, the earlier versions do the job too.
xmech2k is offline Find More Posts by xmech2k
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 04:43 PM
Y=C+I+G
cmdl's Avatar
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
9,040 Posts
I usually go with pricewatch.com when building/upgrading computers. I have been lately going to Frys (its in CA I don't know if its in other states) since they match online deals but only for a part here and there. Bulk buying to upgrade would be best done through online shopping.
cmdl is offline Find More Posts by cmdl
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 05:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
721 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by damhelis View Post
I just bought real flight 6 sim from H.L. just to find out I dont have near enough computer. Can anyone tell me the best (and cheaper alternitave to replacing my whole system). I checked with my local computer shop, just the tower and graphics card is around $800.00. A bit more than i planed to spend.That would make the cost of running RF6 at $1000.00 just to get started. Any ideas? Thanks all
I guess the question to start of with is what do you currently have. Is it a desktop or laptop? You might be able to upgrade what you currently have to work just fine.
Madratter is offline Find More Posts by Madratter
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 05:54 PM
rrg
Registered User
rrg's Avatar
USA, KY, Edgewood
Joined Dec 2007
1,289 Posts
I had to get a new video card $80.00 installed myself. Runs fine.....
rrg is online now Find More Posts by rrg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Disappointed in RF6 1g1yy Simulators 29 Jun 14, 2012 12:26 PM
Discussion Oversharpening of Pano terrain in RF6? Madratter Simulators 19 Dec 20, 2011 11:00 AM
Question G4.5 to RF6 db1 Simulators 1 Dec 13, 2011 06:24 PM
Discussion RF6 question Airfield2 Simulators 6 Nov 11, 2011 09:59 PM
Discussion RF6 physics - any significant improvement? malcolmm Simulators 0 Nov 07, 2011 11:56 PM