HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 27, 2012, 01:47 AM
Registered User
Gungho's Avatar
Singapore
Joined Aug 2006
312 Posts
Discussion
Bad Servo, Bad Tester or Just Bad Luck

Its a long story but anyway I will vent....

After having received 2 planes with bad TAIL servos.....One was replaced....the 2nd which failed a month later has gone under the knife....

And than testing with the "suspect" servo tester...

https://vimeo.com/41125856

Pleased but not happy camper......
Gungho is offline Find More Posts by Gungho
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:41 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,813 Posts
Sorry man, thats not fun,, whats the plane ? did the servo came along ? What was the servo inside that was bad ?

It sounded like bad gearings...
sebbe is offline Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:54 AM
The props of tomorrow
Varna , Bulgaria
Joined Feb 2007
950 Posts
Not good to pay such price for Avionik and dig it into the ground because of a bad servo ...
GeorgiMirov is online now Find More Posts by GeorgiMirov
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 05:41 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2004
758 Posts
What kind of supply voltage are you running on your Jeti Box?

Gerben
Gerben is offline Find More Posts by Gerben
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 05:53 AM
Needs to do 52 legs !!
jjmouris's Avatar
Verenigd Koninkrijk, Fareham
Joined Aug 2008
7,146 Posts
Nice work on fixing it. Any flex in the fin after the patch up?

I still wonder if it's the pressures / forces on the servo casing due to being moulded between two hard shells that is causing these failures. As you know i recently had an aileron servo go mid flight. It just wants to go full up if you give it any up aileron, down aileron works normally. So to me that means the potentiometer must either have some crap in it or is being twisted.

It's good that Sergey replaced one of them. It must not be good news for him when he is so over worked and has to many orders to fill.
jjmouris is online now Find More Posts by jjmouris
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My F5B saw tooth props
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 07:05 AM
Registered User
Gungho's Avatar
Singapore
Joined Aug 2006
312 Posts
The Jeti Box takes the voltage off a BEC. The BEC is from the power of a jeti 66 Spin ESC. 5,5volts.

Well the good news is The first plane maidened today on 5s. Other than a loose RX cable coming of the RX intermittently...(overlooked heat shrinking it to the extension) The flight went well.

Very interesting plane I must say. Thats for another conversation.....

Joe...there are quite a few spars in the leading edge and the mid section of the tail.So I made sure the servo hung on to that to prevent any flexing with some epoxy. The open cut was spot on.

The bad servo was hunting like the first....it had a mind of its own. But it was glued so tight in I had to persuade it to come out with a dremal, pliers and screwdriver.
Gungho is offline Find More Posts by Gungho
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:05 AM
Needs to do 52 legs !!
jjmouris's Avatar
Verenigd Koninkrijk, Fareham
Joined Aug 2008
7,146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gungho View Post
Well the good news is The first plane maidened today on 5s. Other than a loose RX cable coming of the RX intermittently...(overlooked heat shrinking it to the extension) The flight went well.
Another lucky escape?

What sort of extension are we talking about?

jjmouris is online now Find More Posts by jjmouris
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My F5B saw tooth props
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:08 AM
GER 3788
Joined Feb 2012
188 Posts
I know....this is perhaps quite bad sense of humor, but somehow I am happy to see that not only RW4s have sometimes tail probs....*duck and away*
Matze_Koelle is offline Find More Posts by Matze_Koelle
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:32 AM
Registered User
Gungho's Avatar
Singapore
Joined Aug 2006
312 Posts
I have an extension cable from the RX to the ESC... somehow it worked its way lose and I lost the power midway thru the flight...So just had one shot at the landing.

Now its got shrink wrap around it where the connectors meet

Well with the RW 4...at least you can still replace servo neatly. Maybe they should start having access windows to replace servos easily.

I must say she slices like knife to soft butter and grips like a brand new set of Michelin Pilot Super SPorts tires...

I just need to figure out the Thermal and Speed mode. So far Golikov settings are spot on.
Gungho is offline Find More Posts by Gungho
Last edited by Gungho; Apr 27, 2012 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 09:39 AM
GER 3788
Joined Feb 2012
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gungho View Post
Maybe they should start having access windows to replace servos easily.
Oh yes the same please in the wings!!!!! Can you imagine how much it hurts pushing the cutter into a nicely molded wing
Matze_Koelle is offline Find More Posts by Matze_Koelle
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 06:00 PM
Registered User
la528it's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2007
2,169 Posts
I installed some mks servos the other day, and they seem promising. This one might be just the ticket for tail installs:


DLG folks are replacing ds09 with these, but not sure if they have enough torque. Specs are:
  • Torque: 1.85 kg-cm (4.8V) │ 2.20 kg-cm (6.0V)
  • Speed: 0.203 s (4.8V) │ 0.154 s (6.0V)
  • Weight: 6.5 g (0.23 oz) (!!!)


The smoothness of gear train is a bit rediculous:

MVI 3976 (0 min 17 sec)
la528it is offline Find More Posts by la528it
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 06:34 PM
Registered User
Gungho's Avatar
Singapore
Joined Aug 2006
312 Posts
I am using MKS servos in 2 other planes and they are super smooth. The 6100 servos is the quietest servo I know of to date. But it only runs on 5 volts. The glider aluminum servos are also very good. Max 5.5volts
Gungho is offline Find More Posts by Gungho
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 06:47 PM
Registered User
Gungho's Avatar
Singapore
Joined Aug 2006
312 Posts
Btw the offending servo is a graupner ds 428
Gungho is offline Find More Posts by Gungho
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 02:21 AM
Needs to do 52 legs !!
jjmouris's Avatar
Verenigd Koninkrijk, Fareham
Joined Aug 2008
7,146 Posts
Sergey said that MKS 6100 won't fit but he will test the DS 65K soon.

I don't know if i like the DS65K that much. I like the metal housing as it's likely stronger then the DS09 / 428 but it's also again smaller and maybe more fragile.

I've got some spare DS09 sitting here and i will try to make one fail so we know a bit more about why they fail. If it is ''user induced'' or not.
jjmouris is online now Find More Posts by jjmouris
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My F5B saw tooth props
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:19 AM
GER 3788
Joined Feb 2012
188 Posts
Rainer is also putting the MKS6100 whereever he can....they make it fit.

Itīs in all RW4 from now on. I have also one with MKS6100....they are really good.

Not to forget....the ds65k is in a total differnet price league....itīs something like 60€ per piece....
Matze_Koelle is offline Find More Posts by Matze_Koelle
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Hyperion Atlas DS09, bad batch or bad luck E_ferret Radios 0 Jul 23, 2011 07:21 PM
Discussion Cheap servo or just bad luck? t0ny-p40 Power Systems 8 Oct 02, 2009 10:48 AM
The number 13. Good luck, bad luck, depends, or neither. jay flay tway Life, The Universe, and Politics 16 Aug 18, 2005 03:42 AM
Help! Is it just my bad luck? PDS Vendor Talk 1 Sep 30, 2004 06:06 PM
Bad luck or bad charger? JamesD Parkflyers 7 Mar 04, 2002 04:40 AM