HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 26, 2012, 01:33 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined Apr 2012
452 Posts
Discussion
If you have a CineStar 3 Axis Gimbal That Freaks Out... Watch This

Hey Guys,
If you have a 3 axis gimbal from CineStar that freaks out every time you turn it on then here is a cheap, easy fix.

CineStar 3 Axis Gimbal Freak Out Fix (2 min 45 sec)


Josh
BirdsEyeProd is offline Find More Posts by BirdsEyeProd
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 26, 2012, 01:47 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Why not use 1 switch and run the grounds through that?
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 26, 2012, 01:55 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarro View Post
Why not use 1 switch and run the grounds through that?
Was thinking the same.
Not very handy flipping 3 switches in a second...
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 01:58 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Was thinking the same.
Not very handy flipping 3 switches in a second...
Plus once the bird is armed I don't like to stick my face and hands around it anymore then I have to.
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Apr 26, 2012, 02:10 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined Apr 2012
452 Posts
The gimbal is a complete separate system from the copter. We have a dual operator setup. We always turn the gimbal on first before the copter. As for the single switch we are probably switching to that soon. This was our first test to see that it even all worked like we wanted it to.
BirdsEyeProd is offline Find More Posts by BirdsEyeProd
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 09:25 PM
Registered User
nicnaimless's Avatar
United States, MI, Jenison
Joined Jun 2008
1,149 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdsEyeProd View Post
The gimbal is a complete separate system from the copter. We have a dual operator setup. We always turn the gimbal on first before the copter. As for the single switch we are probably switching to that soon. This was our first test to see that it even all worked like we wanted it to.
What IMU is stabilizing your gimbal?
nicnaimless is offline Find More Posts by nicnaimless
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 10:17 PM
Huckfest or bust!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,057 Posts
it doesn't do that with a Futaba receiver onboard.
the servo movement like that is classic Spektrum receiver init.

someone remind me...it does that when the failsafe's aren't set/programmed yes?

When I used spek several years ago, anytime I'd power on the reciever, my servo's would go extreme position, and then reset back to neutral, but I honestly forget if this was an issue with particular Spektrum receivers or a non failsafe setting issue...its been awhile
I DO remember stripping out several gears in items such as flaps when I would power up the ar7000 receiver. The flaps would try to go the opposite direction at powerup..causing it to strip gears.

Some of you may have seen this type of thing when powering up your receivers, using analog servo's especially. Rudder, elevator, ailerons would deflect and then go back to normal positions once the receiver found the tx signal.


EDIT:

Just did some google searching on some terms and found that I wasn't misremembering. The "issue" can be rectified if you REBIND your reciever with the servo's in the position you want them to be in.

Horizon, back in 2008 determined the issue to be with the "new" at the time, quick reset feature.
this affected mostly analog servo's, but some digitals as well.

so give it a try. put your servo's in the position you want them to be in and rebind, ie fail safe position.
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Last edited by cryhavoc38; Jun 17, 2012 at 01:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 03:25 AM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined Apr 2012
452 Posts
Quadrocopter also just released a new firmware update for the MK FC that eliminates the freak-out issue. It also is supposed to make everything better/more smooth from what I can tell. I am hoping to play with it tomorrow.

Quadrocopter Tutorial - CineStar 360 FC board update and configuration (11 min 30 sec)


Josh
BirdsEyeProd is offline Find More Posts by BirdsEyeProd
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Cinestar 8 with 3 axis camera gimbal Tretch5000 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 13 Apr 26, 2012 02:28 PM
Sold Sony Liveview OLED watch $35.00, A must have if you have an Android cell freddb3 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Apr 17, 2012 10:49 PM
Cool CineStar 3 axis 360 Gimbal tabbytabb Multirotor Talk 23 Feb 02, 2012 09:38 PM