Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2012, 11:30 AM
Slow Flyer
Bombay's Avatar
Richmond, TX
Joined Apr 2008
3,234 Posts
By series, I mean this configuration:
Bombay is offline Find More Posts by Bombay
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2012, 11:34 AM
Wherever you go there you are
7oneWo1f's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,290 Posts
Got it. If you're running 3S, go + to + and - to -. If you have some sections with a number of LEDs not divisable by three, some of the LEDs probably won't work.
7oneWo1f is offline Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 11:57 AM
Slow Flyer
Bombay's Avatar
Richmond, TX
Joined Apr 2008
3,234 Posts
Thanks. I've used these led strips extensively. I usually wire the strips and segments in parallel for the reasons mentioned, but I am now curious about electrotor's calculations. I'll see if I can wire up a few segments in series in the next couple of days to test his statement.
Bombay is offline Find More Posts by Bombay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 04:23 AM
Registered User
Tomkfly's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birkenhead
Joined Jan 2013
1,176 Posts
These strips have buzz bar type strips running the full length and the LEDs are connected, sets of three in series, to the buzz bar. To power them up as series strips, the positive front end of each strip should be connected to the positive tail end of the previous strip. The same for the negative to negative. Connecting them as shown in the above diagram would leave the circuit open and they would not work.

Sorry brain not in gear this morning. I was thinking strips and not individual groups of three. The diagram is correct and the individual LEDs would be connected in series, but the would glow very dim on 12 volts. The strips are meant to be connected as I describe above, in order to work correctly on 12 volts.

Tom
Tomkfly is online now Find More Posts by Tomkfly
Last edited by Tomkfly; Jan 17, 2013 at 04:56 AM. Reason: Incorrect information
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:12 AM
Slow Flyer
Bombay's Avatar
Richmond, TX
Joined Apr 2008
3,234 Posts
Like so...

Bombay is offline Find More Posts by Bombay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 02:00 PM
Dark Yet??
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Dec 2009
1,458 Posts
You can make a dimmer with a few diodes.
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:21 AM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,252 Posts
My question is on a sound module running on 2s I cannot get this thing to work. I have it wired exactly the way the wiring diagrams have, but no joy. Can anyone help? I can send a picture it that helps. Just have to take a picture.
quitcherbitchen is offline Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:26 PM
Slow Flyer
Bombay's Avatar
Richmond, TX
Joined Apr 2008
3,234 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quitcherbitchen View Post
My question is on a sound module running on 2s I cannot get this thing to work. I have it wired exactly the way the wiring diagrams have, but no joy. Can anyone help? I can send a picture it that helps. Just have to take a picture.

Quitcher:
I would recommend posting it over in the DIY electronics area. I realize it is not DIY, but that is where the diode heads hang out.

I would recommend posting the link to the source along with pics of the item.

http://www.rcgroups.com/diy-electronics-199/
Bombay is offline Find More Posts by Bombay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 12:34 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,252 Posts
Thank you very much.
quitcherbitchen is offline Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:37 PM
Dark Yet??
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Dec 2009
1,458 Posts
You need to make sure the ground on the RX switch is also tied to the battery ground.

Look at the dimmer schematic.
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 01:46 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,252 Posts
OK, so I am using a separate battery to power the sound unit. So I need to tie into the ground of that battery for the switch to work? How do I do that? I am not using a separate UBEC. If a UBEC is the key I can add one.
quitcherbitchen is offline Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 04:03 PM
Dark Yet??
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Dec 2009
1,458 Posts
Just use a wire to connect the ground (-) of each battery together. The RX switch needs a ground reference to operate.
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 05:43 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,252 Posts
So the 2s battery for the sound unit will share a negative with the plane battery which is 3s?
quitcherbitchen is offline Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:08 AM
Dark Yet??
Barn-E-Stormer's Avatar
United States, VA, Narrows
Joined Dec 2009
1,458 Posts
Yes, the ground is a reference point. The number of cells does not matter.

Tie the two grounds together and it will work.
Barn-E-Stormer is offline Find More Posts by Barn-E-Stormer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 10:38 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,252 Posts
Got it working guys. Thanks for all your help. Don't know if I saved very much weight getting rid of the servo and momentary switch by adding a UBEC and the Remote receiver switch, but the trigger on the machine gun is more precise now.
quitcherbitchen is offline Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! 4 Channel receiver to control 3 turnigy on/off switches acuralegendz Radios 0 Apr 24, 2012 05:22 PM
Help! Turnigy Receiver Controlled Switch wriggs Power Systems 4 Mar 07, 2012 08:08 AM
Sold NIP! Turnigy Receiver Controlled on/off switch sale!!! jeff489 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 15, 2011 12:53 AM
Sold NIP! Turnigy Receiver Controlled on/off switch $10.00 awayne Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Nov 11, 2011 12:38 PM
Wanted Turnigy Receiver Controlled Switch Floater73 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Oct 24, 2011 03:04 PM