HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2012, 03:39 AM
"The Judge"
sebbe's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,788 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve C View Post
Hmm, well I flew a plane 190 mph with one. It worked for me.
I also read somewhere, one was pushing this prop over 2.5kw, no problems..
sebbe is offline Find More Posts by sebbe
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2012, 08:29 AM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Jul 2010
1,088 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcteryxxx View Post
Mike: have you contempated a gearbox for your 28-58-1? I have the same motor turning a 15x18 prop on 5S with a Kontronik KPG 5.2:1 gear
I read about a set up like yours but unless I was reading wrong your set up was only good for 30 sec burst? I'm hopeing to fly more like a big slower poylon, but I do like to cut the power on the down hill legs

So could you use that set up for 3-4min with a few no power passes to cool things off?
mikes68charger is offline Find More Posts by mikes68charger
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 11:42 AM
Carbon fiber is our friend
Steve C's Avatar
United States, CA, Lodi
Joined Feb 2001
4,214 Posts
We tried to fly the Cyclone on 5s yesterday. No combination of settings would make that motor run correctly. This was with a Phoenix 125. 16 khz and low timing was about the best, but it still sputtered at just past half throttle. BTW, the motor even ran a little weird at full throttle on 4s.

Steve C
Steve C is offline Find More Posts by Steve C
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 12:11 PM
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
Canada, SK, Prince Albert
Joined Jan 2006
1,434 Posts
Steve - I ran into that with this set up (GS3025-4, K-Force 150 ESC) as well on 5S...no problem at 4...always just past half throttle! According to a couple of guys on the main forum (who know a ton about the inner workings of an ESC) my motor has a high pole count and the "electric RPM's are to high at 5S.

That's why this one is just for maiden and the 36mm inrunner is on the way for the serious speed! The Speed Cup guys use outrunners/direct drive...but I don't think any of them are stock. They have adjusted the magnets and rewound the motors to function well with the ESC's and take the abuse
arcticflyer is offline Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Last edited by arcticflyer; Apr 30, 2012 at 12:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 12:58 PM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,291 Posts
Steve C - What firmware were you running?

I just updated one CC125 to 4.01, one of the claims with the firmware is a higher electrical rpm is possible. Might fix it
jackosmeister is online now Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 01:59 PM
186mph Funjet Ultra
E-speed buff's Avatar
nieuw vennep, the netherlands
Joined Feb 2010
502 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcticflyer View Post
Steve - I ran into that with this set up (GS3025-4, K-Force 150 ESC) as well on 5S...no problem at 4...always just past half throttle! According to a couple of guys on the main forum (who know a ton about the inner workings of an ESC) my motor has a high pole count and the "electric RPM's are to high at 5S.

That's why this one is just for maiden and the 36mm inrunner is on the way for the serious speed! The Speed Cup guys use outrunners/direct drive...but I don't think any of them are stock. They have adjusted the magnets and rewound the motors to function well with the ESC's and take the abuse
The Speed Cup guys use 10 pole or less motors at less than 30K rpm, you can buy most of these motors in Europe and some in Asia, but they don't use budget esc's.
Budget esc's are to big and heavy for competition use.
Budget motors are also either to heavy or to unreliable for competition use.
When you want to use 14 pole outrunners, you have to use extreme double oversquare props and keep your rpm below 15K.

Grtz René
E-speed buff is offline Find More Posts by E-speed buff
Last edited by E-speed buff; Apr 30, 2012 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 02:45 PM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Jul 2010
1,088 Posts
I love this thread. Lol

So what do the number of poles do for you?
Like this big ARC 36-75-1 is only a 4 pole motor.
Thanks
mikes68charger is offline Find More Posts by mikes68charger
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 09:13 AM
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
Canada, SK, Prince Albert
Joined Jan 2006
1,434 Posts
Mike - this is my understanding of it...If wrong or off someone please correct.

Low pole numbers you can run higher RPM's but the torque of the motor is lower.
Higher Pole numbers you can't run as high an RPM but the motor has more torque.

All these big inrunners are designed primarily for EDF's...EDF's don't need torque they are spinning fans and need the RPM's.

For those of us who want to use these motors on PROP planes...we need to find a balance between the two (EDF's and Props)...and that is hard to find. Which is why I would like to see some guys testing these motors with PROPS...so we can get some real numbers.

The F3S guys take outrunners (made primarily for torque) and remake them by changing the poles and rewinding them to get that balance between RPM's and Torque and go
FAST

This is how I see it!
arcticflyer is offline Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 02:30 PM
Carbon fiber is our friend
Steve C's Avatar
United States, CA, Lodi
Joined Feb 2001
4,214 Posts
I am only asking the motor to turn about 11k rpm, so it shouldn't be a problem. Firmware was 4.0. I thought they had a 120k rpm limit on 2 pole and if they do, I shouldn't be seeing this problem. Seems odd that we're both having the same exact thing happen with two different esc's and different kv motors.

Most ducted fan outrunners use 6 poles, but the speed cup stuff is mostly 10. They have no problem with YGE controllers, so maybe that's what we have to get.

My buddy Erik is really checking out the new Monster but shipping is crazy. He said he might have to pop over to Munich to pick one or two up!
Steve C is offline Find More Posts by Steve C
Last edited by Steve C; May 01, 2012 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 02:46 PM
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
Canada, SK, Prince Albert
Joined Jan 2006
1,434 Posts
Hey Guys this is an interesting page on another thread about the results of this past years Speed Cup: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ght=f3s&page=4

The guy that wrote the first post on that page is the guy I got my 7x13 folders from.

I should be getting one of the first few to come out...will let you know what the shipping is. Don't know if it is cheaper from Europe to here or the US. The last one cost me $75.00US.
arcticflyer is offline Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Last edited by arcticflyer; May 01, 2012 at 10:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 11:49 AM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Jul 2010
1,088 Posts
Ok guys I need ya help.

Here are the numbers I got thus far. Big ARC 36-75-1


3200 40c 3s.

73 amps. 15,400 rpm  8.75x.7.5

95amps 17,300 -17,000rpm 8.75x7.5

On 2650 4s 40c

17,800 rpm. With no amp loger on 4s

6x4 pylon

18,900 rpm 17 amps
23,600 rpm 25amps 4s
31,500rpm. 48amps 6s 2200 30c

I now got a pile of 2 big props. A lot of those 8.75 in and up props.

From these numbers it looks like I need a 7 in prop?

The 6x4 is a apc speed prop so it's tinny. The 8.7 is apc big Plyon/gas props.

So we're I got a grupper 7x5 comeing in the mail
mikes68charger is offline Find More Posts by mikes68charger
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 12:14 PM
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
Canada, SK, Prince Albert
Joined Jan 2006
1,434 Posts
Go to the LHS and pick up an APC SPORT (nitro prop) 7X7, 7x8, 7x9 or if you are lucky enough to find one a 7x10 and run them through and lets see what numbers you get... especially on 6S. The 6x4 is way to small and low in pitch for speed purposes.
arcticflyer is offline Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 12:24 PM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Jul 2010
1,088 Posts
I just called all my local hobby stores and the only props they have in the 7in are noylon Master AirScrews. Would you tust them?
mikes68charger is offline Find More Posts by mikes68charger
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 12:29 PM
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
Canada, SK, Prince Albert
Joined Jan 2006
1,434 Posts
NOOOOOOO! Stick with APC SPORT or APC PYLON! If it wouldn't take so stinking long I would send you some of mine...it has gotten crazy how long it takes to get stuff back and forth between the US and Canada now! I can get stuff quicker from Europe!
arcticflyer is offline Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 01:05 PM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Jul 2010
1,088 Posts
Ok thanks. It turns out my tac is only good to 32,000rpm. So I gess my numbers may be higher

I'm going to order more props today. I found a wood topflite 7x6 prop but can't find info on rpm. Lol
mikes68charger is offline Find More Posts by mikes68charger
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Buying fast planes from .... sebbe High Performance 17 Apr 10, 2012 02:57 PM
Sold Pattern plane,Trainer planes Cheap!Need to move fast. radman615 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 5 Mar 03, 2012 05:16 PM
For Sale JEPE fast foam BIG F-18 HORNET pajlotmato Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 2 Jan 30, 2012 03:40 PM
Discussion How fast can a Big Lama fly? Pretty fast! Owner1 Coaxial Helicopters 1 Aug 12, 2011 03:53 PM
Discussion Need some advice! I'm looking for a big fast plane! JoeyNC Fuel Plane Talk 6 Jun 09, 2010 03:26 AM