HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 23, 2012, 05:32 PM
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2012
752 Posts
Discussion
Hexacopter AP Build Planning

Hey guys,
The multirotor bug has bitten me quite viciously and wonít let go until I get a decent AP rig up in the air. I wanted to share my plans and get any advice from all the wealth of experience and know-how on this forum prior to taking the expensive plunge.

First off, let me introduce myself. I am an aerospace engineer, who works on small UAVs for a living. Needless to say, my hobby isnít much of an ďescapeĒ, but it passes the time . This is my first post, but I have been browsing for a while and active on other forums. I joined the multi-copter craze last year, but have been doing RC for numerous years, cars and planes mostly.
I currently run a quad setup using the APM 2.0 Arducopter platform, which has improved tremendously over the past few months. The setup, my first multirotor, has been very fun and quite the learning experience. The open-source nature of Arducopter, along with the pretty sophisticated hardware of the APM 2, makes it fun to experiment and test things out. However, given the size of my current setup itís not ideal for anything more than my Go-pro.

Which brings me to my next build:
My goals are primarily vibration free, stabilized video with decent (10-15 min) flight times. Reliability is up there too because my budget isnít infinite, and crashing with my camera wouldnít make my wife too happy. Itís going to mostly be for fun, but I have family and friends in the video/film industry who are salivating at the chance to have a AP rig at their disposal. I am trying to keep this build under $2.5k, $3k at the max, which I believe is very doable.