SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 21, 2012, 08:19 AM
Joined Oct 2011
3 Posts
Help!
First flight (and crash!)

Hi all,

I'm a Newbie, and yesterday my friends and I flew our plane we've been building for the first time. It seemed really keen to pitch up, even doing an impromptu loop, and after a few brief flights we had a particularly heavy landing, suffering minor damage.

We have repaired the plane, and are waiting for good weather to fly it again. But we're also trying to figure out why it didn't fly level? We taped more ballast to the nose after each flight, but it didn't seem to make a difference. The aerofoil has a reflex camber, should we modify that? It has a lot of thrust for its size, and I know in manned aircraft increasing the thrust tends to cause a pitch up moment, so maybe not taking off with full power?

I dunno, there are lots of factors affecting it. And I appreciate that every individual aircraft is different. I also appreciate that investigating problems, finding solutions, and implementing them is part of the intrigue and excitement of it all!

But if anyone had any tips on how to reduce this nose-up tendency, they'd be much appreciated. Thanks a lot,

Sgt367
Sgt367 is offline Find More Posts by Sgt367
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 21, 2012, 02:23 PM
ich bauen groß modell flugzeug
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2010
6,838 Posts
What type of plane is it?? need more info...

Keenan
Keenan smith is offline Find More Posts by Keenan smith
Old Apr 22, 2012, 09:10 AM
Joined Oct 2011
3 Posts
Its a flying wing design, no tailplane (I know, daft eh?), pusher prop configuration. Any general tips? Thanks,

S
Sgt367 is offline Find More Posts by Sgt367
Old Apr 22, 2012, 09:21 AM
ich bauen groß modell flugzeug
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2010
6,838 Posts
sounds like your cg is to far back
Keenan smith is offline Find More Posts by Keenan smith
Old May 06, 2012, 04:42 AM
Joined May 2012
5 Posts