HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 20, 2012, 01:57 PM
Registered User
gibatron's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Solihull
Joined Apr 2012
62 Posts
Discussion
HK KK V2.1 will NOT flash

Hi,

Very new to this so any help and advice would be gratefully received.

I am planning on building a tri based on rcexplorer v2.5. I have the HK KK V2.1 board and the usbasp AVR programmer from Hobby King.

I'm using a win7 machine and installed drivers from fischl.de
I've also tried this on a mac.

I cannot flash the board at all. I have checked the wiring from the 10 to 6 pin plug and its all correct and continuity is fine. I have even tried it wired manually to the pins using old servo leads as suggested in some threads. Still no good.

Attached is a screen dump. Not a great start for me. I have seen many people complain of the same issue but can find no solutions at all.



I have no idea what the issue is at all. Can somebody please please help.
gibatron is offline Find More Posts by gibatron
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 20, 2012, 02:47 PM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,569 Posts
Do you have a second board to test if it is the board or the programmer. The last days there are a increased number of such problems. All have the hk usbasp and get the -1 error.
I also heared from a friend that he has to plug the programmer 10 times to the pc to make it work once.

I suggest it is the programmer that has the problem. Not the cable. Are you experienced in soldering at SMD parts? Then you could solder the pins on the usbasp that are connected to the pin header.

Best Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 03:03 PM
Redneck Injuneer
bill34207's Avatar
Bradenton, Florida
Joined Aug 2007
6,356 Posts
Oh crap, this doesn't look promising. I ordered a couple of these a week or so ago. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=19534 (still waiting for them to arrive).
While at it I ordered 2 of the programmers http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=21321 and now I'm wondering if they are even compatible. I didn't notice it until today the programmers are for "amtel" and the boards are the Atmega168PA.
I'm really new at this as well (been playing with a blade mqx) and haven't even downloaded any software yet.
bill34207 is online now Find More Posts by bill34207
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 20, 2012, 03:37 PM
Registered User
gibatron's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Solihull
Joined Apr 2012
62 Posts
Christian, I could possibly test another board but I'm worried I may damage it? I know someone who could solder the SMD's but they are very tiny and I would imagine it is fiddly work.

There seems to be lots and lots of people with this issue such as here http://rcexplorer.se/Educational/HKKK/HKKK.html and elsewhere online.

Will a new programmer be worth a try? Any recommendations on a programmer? So frustrating. Thank you for your help.

Bill,
I wouldn't hold out much hope. It's not as if it's even worth sending such a low cost item back to HK.
gibatron is offline Find More Posts by gibatron
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 04:11 PM
Registered User
hugy's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
586 Posts
Get the newest beta flash tool. the old one doesn't work with the new board.
hugy is offline Find More Posts by hugy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 04:16 PM
Registered User
gibatron's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Solihull
Joined Apr 2012
62 Posts
I have tried the beta and the latest stable. Still no good. Nobody at all has a solution to this. Many have encountered this issue.
gibatron is offline Find More Posts by gibatron
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 04:17 PM
Registered User
hugy's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
586 Posts
Mine flashed no problem with the beta flashprogram.
hugy is offline Find More Posts by hugy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 04:20 PM
Registered User
gibatron's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Solihull
Joined Apr 2012
62 Posts
Were you using this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/s...dProduct=21321

I'm sure Christian will be able to clarify this.
gibatron is offline Find More Posts by gibatron
Last edited by gibatron; Apr 20, 2012 at 05:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 04:41 PM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,569 Posts
Hi,

just got a response from an other user with the same problem. It was the cable between board and programmer. It was wired wrong. He made a cable using the scheme on my page from servo leads and it works then.

Best Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 05:08 PM
Registered User
gibatron's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Solihull
Joined Apr 2012
62 Posts
So am I correct in thinking from the 6pin plug to 10 pin it is as follows:

pin 1 to 9
pin 2 to 2
pin 3 to 7
pin 4 to 1
pin 5 to 5
pin 6 to 4,6,8 or 10

If so, I have already done that using servo leads and still no good.
gibatron is offline Find More Posts by gibatron
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 04:33 AM
Registered User
gibatron's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Solihull
Joined Apr 2012
62 Posts
So it seems nobody knows! Thanks for all the help anyway. I'm still no further to flashing the board
gibatron is offline Find More Posts by gibatron
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 04:51 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibatron View Post
So am I correct in thinking from the 6pin plug to 10 pin it is as follows:

pin 1 to 9
pin 2 to 2
pin 3 to 7
pin 4 to 1
pin 5 to 5
pin 6 to 4,6,8 or 10

If so, I have already done that using servo leads and still no good.
Sorry for the late reply, but on weekend I am not that much in the net. The pin connections are okay. It is from top looking on the pins.

Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 06:17 AM
Registered User
Slovenia, Ljubljana
Joined Sep 2011
1,527 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibatron View Post
So it seems nobody knows! Thanks for all the help anyway. I'm still no further to flashing the board
Cable provided with usbasp prog from HK has wrong connections. So check this page fro right one:

http://rcexplorer.se/Educational/HKKK/HKKK.html
er9xuser is offline Find More Posts by er9xuser
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 03:13 PM
Registered User
gibatron's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Solihull
Joined Apr 2012
62 Posts
Thank you all. I'm not being deliberately difficult here but the wiring on the HK usbasp programmer is the same as that page you just linked. The only difference is that the ground goes to pin 6 not 10. Looking top down i.e. a plan view of the board. Regardless, I have tested the wiring on the HK programmer and it is as I say. Just in case, I manually wired it up using old servo leads as described on rcexplorer and it still doesn't work.

It seems that nobody really doesn't know after all!
gibatron is offline Find More Posts by gibatron
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 03:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
4 Posts
Have you got the six pin connector the right way round? Mine wouldn't flash at first, had the cable the wrong way :-).

Brian
900supersport is online now Find More Posts by 900supersport
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rave HK KK V2 Quad board (and other recent KK boards) randall1959 Multirotor Electronics 2584 Aug 11, 2014 02:01 PM
Question KK board will not arm 2 motors? bakon Multirotor Talk 10 Apr 10, 2012 06:03 AM
Question Using Lazyzero Flashing Tool on a HK V2 Board? Dave8888 Multirotor Talk 20 Mar 19, 2012 06:20 PM
Discussion Hk kk v2.1 help jwalker590 Multirotor Talk 7 Mar 09, 2012 06:09 AM
Help! hk kk will not flash rbuds Multirotor Talk 9 Dec 28, 2011 01:45 PM