SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 17, 2012, 10:12 AM
Joined Sep 2011
127 Posts
Question
Turnigy 9x - Calibrating Throttle With Cheapy Wild Hawk ESC?

All,

I just received my brand new Turnigy 9x in the mail yesterday! I am still a newbie at this, and I've been looking at trying to get it to work with my existing Wild Hawk and the ESC that came with it.

I connected the receiver to the wild hawk, plugged the various servos / ESC, and turned everything on. And, success! Throttle, Ridder, and Elevator all work like a champ. However, there is one small issue that I've noticed, that while not something I can't deal with, it is something that I'd like to straighten out if I can.

The issue is that it appears that the throttle control on it only begins starting when the throttle is at midpoint. That is, when the throttle is from all the way to the bottom to the middle (negative voltage to 0?), it does nothing to the ESC / motor. But once I go above middle to the top, it spins up the motor just fine. I'm not sure if it's spinning the motor up to full speed (I don't have a prop on it just yet). I know that the transmitter works, because I've verified in the menu that the throttle properly shows that it reads all the way from the bottom to the top.

So it seems like it's just something with the ESC that came with the Wild Hawk. Now, as I said, I'm not at all familiar with most of this, as I am a complete newbie with it, and I just jumped from the Wild Hawk non-standard transmitter to the Turnigy 9x, so it's a bit of a learning curve

Am I running into this issue because the ESC that came with the Wild Hawk is older technology (brushed motor)? Or is it something that you may run into somewhat frequently with ESCs? If so, is there a calibration mechanism available on the 9x that would allow me to take the adjust the throttle range, and have it onyl put out the "middle to top" voltage, but instead span it across the entire range of the controller?