SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 16, 2012, 06:57 PM
United States, MI, Ann Arbor Charter Township
Joined Mar 2012
1,159 Posts
Discussion
Walkera CB180D Oil Leaking?!

OK I'm quite new at this and was greeted with yet another surprise with this heli.

For about my last 4 flights now I'm noticing what appears to be an actual oil
or grease leak of some sort out the top of the head and out one particular side.
There's been a pretty significant of fluid loss and showing up here.
Please see attached photo.
It's been a lot worse than this the first time or two.
I'm concerned it may be running out of something it needs to stay in good working order.

Do these things use some sort of sealed bearing that breaks and leaks when broken?

I've been spending a lot of time reading all about these things and have not yet come across anything on the topic of lubricating the head or bearings going bad and leaking fluid..

If anything I've read items about *NOT* applying oil or lube to these things as it
tends to gum up & attract & hold dirt in the moving parts.

Am I supposed to be cleaning out and re-lubing/oiling all the moving parts on these periodically or what?

Thanks for you insight and experince!!
Very much appreciated.

-Steve
N8LBV is offline Find More Posts by N8LBV
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 16, 2012, 08:09 PM
Joined Aug 2003
597 Posts
looks like ground aluminun paste ,tearing down for inspection and rebuild
would be good idea
mdugas is offline Find More Posts by mdugas
Old Apr 16, 2012, 10:04 PM
Joined Mar 2012
1,159 Posts
Well it's not exactly time for a rebuild yet it's about 2 weeks old and has maybe 15 flights on it.

Aluminum paste? maybe a little aluminum mixed with whatever grease/oil they put in there.
I'm looking for suggestions on how to lube/oil and re-lube/oil after a rebuild.
What type(s) of oil is 'normally' used etc.
Forgot to directly ask that at first, so now I'm asking.