HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 16, 2012, 07:23 AM
Joined Dec 2011
281 Posts
Discussion
Need help with getting the smallest and lightweightest possible setup for an orni

Hey all, im trying to make an easy mod, basically im trying to mod a wowwee dragonfly like ornithopter (its 2 channels) electronics as im sick of glitches and range below 30 meeters... i have a spektrum dx7s so i wanna base the setup on that.
Currently im a newb at this so i do not understand the required hardware to make 2 simple motors running, all i know is that i need battery, a receiver and transmitter, since i already have a spektrum dx7s the smallest and lightest i could find was AR6300 (which i didnt buy yet).

So, what exactly do i need to make a 2 channel setup work with my dx7s and keep it as light as possible? also is brushless motor out of this league? the smallest ones are far to big for this ornithopter? what else is needed besides the tx/rx battery and motors?

Thanks a bunch for all your help!
Legendary_Agent is offline Find More Posts by Legendary_Agent
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 17, 2012, 04:57 PM
Push
Joined Jan 2008
305 Posts
Can you post a picture and the weight of the ornithopter?
XXXmags is offline Find More Posts by XXXmags
Old Apr 17, 2012, 05:49 PM
Joined Dec 2011
281 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by XXXmags View Post
Can you post a picture and the weight of the ornithopter?
Hey, thanks for the reply here is the link:
http://www.wowwee.com/en/products/to...reen-skyhopper

Never mind the fitting process ill think about that after i get the setup, i was suggested a AR6400 as it has everything including 2 micro servos but i dont know if its allright to take out the linear servo mechanism or whatever its called and use the motors for throtle and 1 for steering (the steering is done with a small rotor on its tail like a helicopter).