HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 15, 2012, 08:47 PM
Joined Mar 2012
222 Posts
Build Log
TF Model /Smart Model Apache AH-64 Build & Detailing

Hello from New Zealand!

Hope you guys are all finding the time and right weather to get some flight time in!

Im new to the site, into flying both scale and 3d, however my 3d skills are novice to say the least. Ive been flying since June of 2011, i own a couple of T-Rex 450's, one flybarless, one inside a hughes 500d, a Gaui X5, Compass knight 600e inside an align hughes 500d, about to upgrade to 5blade head.

im currently in the build stage of my new tf / smart model 600 size Apache. i followed horsemans build log, and he has given me some helpful tips and advice along the way, as has Kin from smartmodel.

Im running the trex-600esp mechanics, savox servos, spektrum 8ch receiver w/ dx8. 2x hyperion 4200 6sell, atlas 120 HV esc, hyperion 720kv motor smartmodel raised tail unit, double cats 4 blade head & tail rotors. beast x gyro. the headspeed calculator says with that set up, i should achieve 1600rpm headspeed at 62% flat throttle curve. ive flown the head higher already, so thats a decent outcome, leaving me lots of headroom either side if needed.

this is a partial build shot, ive since chopped down the tail, installed battery rack similar to horsemans, and new motor, esc, 12t pinion etc.