HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 14, 2012, 02:29 PM
Suspended Account
United States, VA, Ashburn
Joined Apr 2012
2,784 Posts
Discussion
Help!! newbie needs plane advice

hello everyone, i am rather new to this hobby. I can fly a champ perfectly, takeoff and landings. i got a pkz spitfire for my birthday, and was really upset when I found i could fly it extremely well, but not takeoff or land due to the extreme torque forcing the plane to go in 30' circles on takeoff, then fall on its nose, scraping the prop. it seems you need a rather gargantuan runway to compensate with the rudder. I really want an F27Q Stryker because i dont have to take off, and it just floats down and plops right on the grass with not problems. Im worried because i think my skills will not be able to handle the extra speed.......... and i only have a Dx5e, so no expo. please advise.

Sincerely,
Cullen
RCAddict16 is offline Find More Posts by RCAddict16
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2012, 02:50 PM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
11,544 Posts
Have you read this review http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1252858?

Turning left and crashing on its nose is quite common with any model aircraft if it's speed is not high enough when you try to get it off the ground. It shouldn't need a long runway, but the review points out that you won't get off from grass -- presumably it doesn't have enough power to get up to a decent speed against the drag from the grass.
abenn is online now Find More Posts by abenn
Old Apr 14, 2012, 02:53 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Apr 2012
2,784 Posts
thanks for the advice, but thats not really my question. based on my information, do you think i can fly the Stryker?
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:10 PM
Concord, MA
Joined Jun 2002
1,113 Posts
I think you maybe need to perfect the handlaunch of the spitfire.