Old Apr 13, 2012, 06:38 PM
Experienced but not an Expert
United States, WA, Enumclaw
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Discussion
Blade-450 Motor Upgrade Question

Hello all

I'm fairly new to the helicopter side of RC flying, and I recently bought a Blade-450, and I have been progressing along nicely with my skills. I am currently using the recommended advanced rates on my transmitter, and I have moved the fly-bar weights in to about half (though after flying with them there today, I may move them all the way in, or just take them off, haven't decided yet). Any how I really liked the way it performed today, and it got me to thinking about getting the e-flite 440 motor that is listed on their suggested upgrades. It currently has the e-flite 420.
My question is, is there anything else I may have to upgrade from the stock version to prepare it for the 440 motor? Has anyone done this upgrade? If so, was it worth it?
I'm currently compiling my latest flight video of the helicopter and once it's up on YouTube for viewing I'll post it here in this thread.

Thanks
seahawk1984 is offline Find More Posts by seahawk1984
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2012, 04:12 PM
Committed heli addict...
Joined Jan 2010
675 Posts
Looking at the specs on blade heli, the 440 is 4200kv(3800kv stock), which will give you higher rpms, more performance, but slightly shorter flight times. The recommended esc is between 25-40A, so the stock esc is sufficient. Not the greatest for the most extreme 3d flying, but sufficient.
phoenixheli is offline Find More Posts by phoenixheli
Old Apr 14, 2012, 08:06 PM
Joined May 2011
394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixheli View Post
Looking at the specs on blade heli, the 440 is 4200kv(3800kv stock), which will give you higher rpms, more performance, but slightly shorter flight times. The recommended esc is between 25-40A, so the stock esc is sufficient. Not the greatest for the most extreme 3d flying, but sufficient.