SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 13, 2012, 12:16 AM
Joined Jan 2012
57 Posts
Discussion
can too high bat. discharge rating damage ESC?

While flying today plane lost all power, evidently my ESC (30A Eflite) bit the dirt while using a 25-50C discharge 1300mAh 3 cell. As this was a powered glider, when power was lost the motor was not even on and plane was in a gentle glide Had been flying for a while with no problem when it came down nose first with no control and upon inspection a dead Rx.

Did some trouble shooting at home, battery still had a charge, hooked Rx up to another ESC and worked fine but the ESC in the plane does not work when hooked to another Rx. The battery was a spare battery. Would the battery have damaged the ESC? The original battery was a 20C, I would think a battery with a larger C rating would not be a problem as long a voltage was correct (in this case 11.1)

I'm a rookie learning as I go, trying to figure out what has failed.
Meach_in_GA is offline Find More Posts by Meach_in_GA
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 13, 2012, 12:32 AM
Senile Member
Moab, Utah, USA
Joined Apr 2003
6,241 Posts
Sounds like your BEC went bad. It is very doubtful that a higher C rated battery caused the problem. While gliding with the motor off both batteries would have essentially the same voltage because there is not enough current being drawn from either battery to pull the voltage down regardless of the battery's C rating.

Larry
Lnagel is offline Find More Posts by Lnagel
Old Apr 13, 2012, 12:47 AM
Joined Jan 2012
57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lnagel View Post
Sounds like your BEC went bad. It is very doubtful that a higher C rated battery caused the problem. While gliding with the motor off both batteries would have essentially the same voltage because there is not enough current being drawn from either battery to pull the voltage down regardless of the battery's C rating.

Larry