HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 12, 2012, 01:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
2 Posts
Help!
Follow me Function using ArduCopter ATMega 2560

Hi,
I am new to this stuff and am trying to build an fpv hexa-copter that would be able to follow a person. I am using the ArduCopter ATmega 2560 controller http://www.udrones.com/product_p/expck2.htm.

Is there a way to accomplish the above i.e. automatically follow a person with the above setup. If not, then what are the alternatives.

Thank you in advance.
bubblydevil is offline Find More Posts by bubblydevil
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 12, 2012, 05:18 AM
Registered User
techspy's Avatar
USA, NC, Matthews
Joined Aug 2008
3,212 Posts
It is my understanding that there is an option in Mission Planner (Or maybe HK Ground station) to have the copter follow the ground station if you have a gps connected to the ground station (laptop). I imagine that you could use a wireless link (XBee?) to transfer the GPS info from one location (a person) to the laptop and have it follow that way.
techspy is offline Find More Posts by techspy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Esprit Saga
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 05:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
2 Posts
I did find out that there is an option in mission planner to do this.
Here is the link http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/AC2_FollowMe

But I see on the left hand side that it says ArduCopter2. Now my question is that would it work with the ArduCopter board that I have ordered. Here is the link http://www.udrones.com/product_p/expck2.htm

I am very new to this stuff, so sorry for any stupid questions.
bubblydevil is offline Find More Posts by bubblydevil
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 10:04 AM
Arducopter Developer
R_Lefebvre's Avatar
Joined Oct 2010
1,912 Posts
Yes, the APM1.4 (what you bought) should be capable of that. This function is not well tested though. I've never seen anybody do it yet. The reference to AC2 is the code, not the board.


You will need an Xbee or 3DR telemetry radio to make it work, however.

You should join us over at the DIYDrones forum.
R_Lefebvre is offline Find More Posts by R_Lefebvre
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 10:09 AM
Registered User
panos2408's Avatar
Cyprus, Limassol
Joined Feb 2008
1,115 Posts
They plan on releasing a small device like the MK within 2013. At the moment it's only done by using a device that can run the APM planner ( Mission Planner) a telemetry module and a Dongle GPS. However most of these gps dongles refresh every 5 which might cause delays depending on the function you plan using the function.
panos2408 is offline Find More Posts by panos2408
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! can someone recommend me a 3 blade prop size for the following? out of stock 3D Flying 3 Apr 10, 2012 09:33 PM
Discussion Follow me systems for DJI WKM... Alfamurat Multirotor Talk 2 Mar 25, 2012 02:18 AM
Video Falcon 120 Cockpit view following red Me 163 PlumberJohn Fuel Plane Talk 0 Jan 03, 2012 08:41 PM
Discussion Recommend me a cheap AtMega 2560 board Katch Multirotor Talk 1 Aug 29, 2011 10:27 AM
Discussion Can someone help me understand how to use the progmix function to level swash? buster7467 Radios 0 Jun 30, 2009 01:54 PM