SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 12, 2012, 12:30 AM
United States, WA, Bothell
Joined Oct 2009
241 Posts
Question
A Heli Pilot's First Hotliner: Take it Slow or Straight to the Real Thing?

Hey all,

To start out, I've spent a significant amount of time reviewing previous threads that focus on what a "good first hotliner" would be and what considerations need to be made and I thank you all for contributing such great info! I've learned a lot already and can't wait to get going on this little adventure...

My background:
I am a flybarless heli pilot with flight/building/tuning experience on all shapes and sizes of heli from 250's up to 90-size, electrics, nitros, etc and my flying style can most appropriately be described at big-air 3D. I also fly multi rotors in FPV and for AP/AV purposes.

All that having been said, I've never flown a fixed-wing aircraft, but I'm very interested in getting into hotliners due primarily to the speed/adrenaline and secondarily to the aesthetics of this class of aircraft. Man, they're sexy!!! I've been flying them on the sim for a while now and I'm as comfortable as I can be with them without actually going out and giving it a try on the real thing.

After much research, I've narrowed my selection of birds down to the following:

1. GP Siren or MP Blizzard: A low-cost trial period with more forgiving and mild flight characteristics, but an upper-limit on capabilities and thus, limited growth potential.

2. BulleT, Micro Flash II (V-tail), X-Ray, Bandit, Enigma: Definitely more pricey, but also more flexible in terms of growth...also, seemingly more robust given that they're fully molded.

My question:
Even though I'm an experienced heli pilot, does my lack of fixed wing experience still put me at risk of being overwhelmed by my #2 "true" hotliner choices?