HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 26, 2003, 01:22 AM
Random Flier
Oxford (UK) and Mtn View CA (USA)
Joined Nov 2002
1,404 Posts
Easybug build and flight report...

Well, I couldn't resist this one. $35 for a sort-of foam-IFO. Child-friendly coloring.

Took 1 evening to put together - I'm no expert, but this was easier than a Slow Stick. The usual GWS instructions - reasonably clear, but worth reviewing in advance. My changes over stock:
1. Put the tail fin on last. A lot of the fittings go on with the plane upside down. In fact I didn't use a rudder, and didn't glue the tail fin in for transport...
2. The little pieces that act as pushrod guides in the wing? Well, they'll never easily just glue onto the wing. Clip away the bit that extends above the hotizontal piece. I pushed mine in from the other side.
3. Glue the above bits and the elevon horns. I also drilled out an extra hole in the control horn for better response...
4. Used a Kokam 1500mAh Li Poly - fits perfectly in the battery bay. The EPS350C, if moved to a -D gearbox, will also take a 3S Lithium if needed.

AUW ~= 10oz, per the box. I used the 10x4.7SF instead of the 10x6DD drive (both are in the box). The GWS website claims more thrust for the SF drive on the C (5.33) gearbox supplied - I must admit I was expecting a D gearbox.
isvana is offline Find More Posts by isvana
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2003, 01:30 AM
Random Flier
Joined Nov 2002
1,404 Posts
First flight(s)

Used elevon mixing in the TX: short take off roll and up!
Likes high throttle settings - not surprising as it hasn't much wing!
A bit nose heavy - landing is certainly not a "float in" exercise, and lands nose-down which breaks the u/c plastic mount in its foam bed. Scotch tape keeps the u/c back in place enough for another take off.