Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
View Poll Results: Have you had a DJI prop fail?
Yes 15 42.86%
No 20 57.14%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:13 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
9,789 Posts
Poll
DJI Prop Failure

Please let us know if you have had a DJI prop fail...If so please let us all know what prop you changed to.

Now that I have a wkm I would really hate to kill the FC over a prop failure
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:29 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
I've had 2 crashes due to a prop breaking on my F550, here's the first one.
http://youtu.be/Nww9-BDEdjY

The first one was after my 17th flight of only hovering around and I never touched a prop on anything. It wasn't from the prop nut being too tight as it broke on the blade and not the hub.

http://youtu.be/We12v-McC4Y
The 2nd crash took out an arm and my NAZA. DJI was kind enough to replace my NAZA but I had to send mine in first. I didn't want to wait weeks to fly so I had to buy another one and when they get mine they will send me a brand new one.

Some might crash and blame DJI for broken stuff when it was operator error but for the ones who crash because of an actual stock prop failure I think something needs to be worked out.
My only thing I can think of is my first crash was after I loaded mine up with my FPV equipment and camera and gimbal BUT I was under the 2400 grams that they rate the F550 for.

Now I have about 5 flights on my 10" Graupners and slowly gaining confidence back and in time I will attach my new Sony Nex5n and pray nothing like that happens again.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Last edited by jasper7821; Apr 20, 2012 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:32 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
9,789 Posts
You have to modify the Graupners, correct? If so how do YOU do it?
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:33 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
You have to modify the Graupners, correct? If so how do YOU do it?
10 inch graupners fit with no mods
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:36 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
9,789 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
10 inch graupners fit with no mods
Nice thanks for the info, do you think 4 cell with the 10" is to much for stock motors?
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:37 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
The 10" Graupners work great with nothing to modify except for balancing.
On mine I just make sure the counter clockwise ones get a little extra loctite since the hole is round and not like the grooved stock ones.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:41 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasper7821 View Post
The 10" Graupners work great with nothing to modify except for balancing.
On mine I just make sure the counter clockwise ones get a little extra loctite since the hole is round and not like the grooved stock ones.
Doesnt loctite eat away at props?
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
Nice thanks for the info, do you think 4 cell with the 10" is to much for stock motors?
I was told by the company I bought mine from to use the 10" props with 4s batteries.
I've had zero problems with this combo EXCEPT for the faulty props and my motors don't get hot at all although all I do is hover around.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 06:01 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
9,789 Posts
ok so we have to spend $13 a prop to make sure we dont have a failure?

What other props are a direct replacement for the dji motors? If I have to spend $13 thats fine but would like to know of other options also
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Old Apr 09, 2012, 06:04 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
Doesnt loctite eat away at props?
I put the prop on then put a little loctite on the threads so nothing gets on the prop, or I use a toothpick and put a tiny bit inside the prop nut.
I have solid loctite (like chapstick) so nothing runs down the shaft onto the prop.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 03:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
3 Posts
broken prop

I just tried to have a first flight with my 550. Did not get more than a foot of the ground when a stock prop flew apart. No damage to the 550. I have 10" Graupners so I will change to them. Kind of high priced but if they work it will be good.
r1saint is offline Find More Posts by r1saint
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 03:22 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,195 Posts
I found the 2nd crash video that took out the NAZA from the stock prop breaking while I was trying to learn FPV. pretty funny.
http://youtu.be/We12v-McC4Y
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 03:36 PM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
Also had a prop failure, altho I did push them hard. But hey, if you can't go fast then what's the point? The Graupners I use now are brilliant. They required little to no balancing and work very very well.
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 04:01 PM
Registered User
jerrymeister's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
475 Posts
I had a prop failure with stock props and switched to grainier

Jerry
jerrymeister is offline Find More Posts by jerrymeister
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 04:43 PM
United States, MI, Goodrich
Joined Mar 2004
3,846 Posts
All DJI 10" props have been upgraded with larger hubs.
I have a bunch of the older ones that I have been marking as V1 and include for free with the new ones.
UAVProducts is offline Find More Posts by UAVProducts
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 19970 Yesterday 05:33 PM
Discussion DJI Naza firmware update failure seojeff Multirotor Talk 15 Mar 20, 2012 08:23 AM
Sold NEW: DJI WKM, Carbon UAVFrame Q50e, Graupner Props Racerx1492 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 13 Dec 08, 2011 07:18 PM
Discussion Does this look like an ESC failure? or Rx Failure? :( (Video incl.) tkhiem Electric Heli Talk 20 Nov 06, 2011 08:00 AM
Discussion Anyone else have EPP 10x4.5 prop failures..... And how do YOU balance them? Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 15 Sep 25, 2011 09:05 PM