HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 09, 2012, 04:14 PM
United States, KY, Bowling Green
Joined Jul 2011
1,075 Posts
Question
Silkspan and Polyspan on fuselage

Howdy All,

Getting ready to cover my fuse, soon I hope..

Aiming to cover the planked areas with silkspan, then the open stringer areas with Polyspan for strength and puncture resistance.

What is the best technique to use, where the two different covering media merge? Hoping to have a seamless finish.

I expect you can finish and sand the silkspan down to a feathered edge but I've never used Polyspan before and I'm not sure about feathering the edges.

Please see my picture for details.

Thanks much for any advice.

Bill
Bill Smudge is offline Find More Posts by Bill Smudge
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 09, 2012, 04:24 PM
Where's the lift?
United States, WA, Snohomish
Joined Mar 2001
2,920 Posts
My recommendation is to cover the whole thing with Polyspan... one piece for the left side and one piece for the right side. Polyspan can be stretched like plastic film if you lay it down with the help of a covering iron. I use nitrate dope, or sometimes polycrylic (Minwax), for sticking it down.

If you must combine the two materials, you can smooth out the overlaps with vinyl spackle prior to prime and paint.
dgliderguy is offline Find More Posts by dgliderguy
Old Apr 09, 2012, 04:40 PM
Big gov never Works
Skunk Water, Rhode Island
Joined Jul 2002
12,457 Posts
Don't try to sand/feather, Poly-Span, Bill. It is a polyester fiber, and will not sand. You will end up with a raised fiber, that is hard to get rid of. I have fine sanded it with VERY worn 400W/D. But very lightly.

Poly-Span seams can be hidden with a strip of feathered silk-span. And I agree with gliderguy, the texture of both mediums is very close. and equal to using a grade of med silkspan as far as weight is considered. So, just use the poly-span, and then no worries of seams.