HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 08, 2012, 01:36 PM
Czech Republic, South Moravia, Hlína
Joined Apr 2012
6 Posts
Help!
Initial Setup - Apprentice...need some advice before buying.

Hello fellow aviators,
I’m a newbie just plunging into this exciting hobby. After spending several days (and nights) soaking up wisdom on the forum, I started to put together my initial setup. I’m planning to stick with the hobby for a longer time, so I want to choose my equipment wisely, make it future-proof. So, I’ve just bought a DX6i tx and a CHAMP BNF set, both at inwoodmodels.com, to build the basic flying skills. However, the more serious plane I’m looking at is the Apprentice. I can get the pnp set for a nice price in my country.
Now I need to buy a charger, batteries and a rx. Because all of the equipment is just ridiculously expensive in my country, I’m gonna be buying online and would like to get everything together, to cut the shipping costs.
Based on what I’ve read so far, I’m leaning towards these:
1. Charger - iCharger 106b+
2. Batteries - Turnigy 3300mAh 3S 20C
3. Rx - OrangeRx R610 Spektrum DSM2 6Ch 2.4Ghz Receiver

Do these choices sound reasonable?
However, I do have a couple of additional questions and knowing the answers would be a tremendous help.
Regarding the charger and batteries – do I need to order any extra charging leads or balancing leads (or adaptors) to make them work together, i.e. make the charger charge them?
Here is a list of items included in the charger package according to the manual:
Standard items:
One copy of the User‘s manual on CD
One pair of output alligator clip leads
One pair of input alligator clips (30A) and input leads with 4mm bullet connectors
One temperature sensor lead
Four rubber feet
One Mini-USB data line (1.2 meter)