HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 08, 2012, 07:55 AM
Joined Apr 2012
2 Posts
Discussion
Building a quad - flight control

Hey there,

I'm a software developer, with some experience in electronics. As such, building a quad copter seemed like a nice and fun challenge to me.

Instead of buying a standard control board, like the KK, I want to design one myself.

Right now, I have a digital compass, an 3-axis accelerometer and a gyro to play with on my desk. I can talk to these components more or less now, but that's not the issue here.

I'm trying to plan ahead a little, trying to figure out what to order, so that it arrives just before I start needing it.

TX/RX portion

I currently only have an Turnigy X9 remote on the way from Hong Kong, as a next step. I plan to hook it up to an atmega, which in turn is hooked up to my PC via serial (FTDI). That would allow me to work out how these receivers work, but I have a few questions about that in advance:

QUESTION 1: What is the voltage requirement for the 8(?) channel receiver that comes with the Turnigy X9? And can I hook that up to a DC adapter safely?

QUESTION 2: What voltage levels can I expect from the 8 (channel) outputs?

Motors

The next step would probably getting some motors and ESCs.

Now I've been reading up on these, but I have to confess that it gets confusing to see so many makes and modes in the various shops...

Basically, this is what I think is important for my quad, ordered from most important, to least:

- should be able to carry camera equipment, realtime video would be very nice
- relatively silent operation
- long battery life

I guess to operate as silent as possible, the RPM of the motors should be relatively low, and the props relatively larges to be able to lift the weight.

HK has a (very limited) selection of motors which are especially made for quads. The "NX-4005-650kv Brushless Quadcopter Motor" seems nice... but... are they really better than "normal" brushless motors?