SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 22, 2013, 10:57 AM
Lets make it remote control!!!
abletowinginc's Avatar
USA, FL, St Augustine
Joined Jun 2009
998 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty case View Post
wow
wow

double ++

REALLY impressive work, scott!
yeah i know seriously you must post like 100 times a day lol
abletowinginc is offline Find More Posts by abletowinginc
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:10 AM
Mark Harrison
USA, CA, Piedmont
Joined Jun 2010
2,256 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisJ800 View Post
Ok worked it out. I needed to mix to switch !THR instead of THR and this seems to reverse the switch sense. Open9X manual doesnt seem to explain this but the 2 pos switches now have an exclamation mark option too!

So Im happy as got throttle hold the same as on my DX6i now
It probably makes intuitive sense to the programmers, for whom "!THR" would be pronounced "not THR".
marhar is offline Find More Posts by marhar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:12 AM
Mark Harrison
USA, CA, Piedmont
Joined Jun 2010
2,256 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvogonen View Post
Sadly it is not possible to switch mode by simply switching gimbals.
The wires from the pots are exactly as long as they need to be. If you switch gimbals, the potentiometers with the shortest leads will not have enough wire length to connect to the contacts.
Switching potentiometers is more complicated than switching the other parts since you need to pull the gimbals completely apart.
Great video!

Is the wire length the only limiting factor? If HK made the wires longer, could the gimbals be simply switched?
marhar is offline Find More Posts by marhar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:16 AM
Mark Harrison
USA, CA, Piedmont
Joined Jun 2010
2,256 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sihinch View Post
I am a newbie, I have never used a programmable radio before. So I am sorry if this question is frustrating for some....

How do I set-up this radio, with an rx, to use dual elevator and/or dual aileron controls?

I have only used Spektrum equipment before and I wanted to use FrSky reliability, but I miss the little sketches of the servo set-up for things like elevons, and 2 servos for ailerons etc.

I know on Spektrum, for dual ailerons, I use the Aileron and Aux channel on the rx.

Thanks!
Simon
In the mix menu, you can mix (for example) both channel 4 and channel 5 to receive input from the same stick. Then you can set the "weight" for channel 4 to +100 and channel 5 to -100 if you want them to respond oppositely.

There's an example here:

http://eastbay-rc.blogspot.com/2012/...r-turnigy.html
marhar is offline Find More Posts by marhar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:18 AM
Mark Harrison
USA, CA, Piedmont
Joined Jun 2010
2,256 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus66 View Post
If you don't accept back order, you may wait a long time. Often when the demand for the 9x was a its height, there would be more back orders than radio shipments, so only people with them back ordered ever got one. Or the radios would be become available but be sold out again within a few hours. To some extent, the same is happening with the 9XR.

I don't understand why people are reluctant to accept back order status.
There was some discussion about this in the 9x thread when they were so hard to get.

Some people objected to the fact that the credit card is charged when the order is made. They preferred the policy of some other online vendors, which is to only charge the credit card when the order is shipped.
marhar is offline Find More Posts by marhar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 12:04 PM
KlonWarz
Joined Dec 2012
455 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by abletowinginc View Post
yeah i know seriously you must post like 100 times a day lol
Yah... I gotta accept things for what they are...

old, retired, banged up, poor, don't get out much... %$@!
and it's 32F outside...

this is my social life!

but I learn a lot, so it's all good!
rc
rusty case is offline Find More Posts by rusty case
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 12:17 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2005
258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marhar View Post
Great video!

Is the wire length the only limiting factor? If HK made the wires longer, could the gimbals be simply switched?
Yes
dvogonen is offline Find More Posts by dvogonen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 12:44 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Irmo
Joined Sep 2011
4,698 Posts
If you want it you have to pre-order. When I bought my 2 9x radios, neither time it was in stock. I had to order and wait. I'm still waiting for the dedicated DSM2/X module before I order. I need another right now.
shahram72 is online now Find More Posts by shahram72
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 12:58 PM
the kgb flies again!
Somerset West, South Africa
Joined Oct 2004
19 Posts
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvogonen View Post
There have been a lot of talk about the possibility to switch between stick mode 1 and 2. It has been claimed that this requires cutting wires and resoldering them. This is however not the case. Neither do you need to strip down the gimbal assemblies completely and rebuild them.
A had a look at the gimbals and made a video that describes in detail the easiest way how to change between stick mode 1 and 2.
It is a bit more complicated than on a 9x, but certainly doable for almost anyone:
http://youtu.be/3oic2bccuaY
Really appreciate you taking the time to do this dvogonen, I have a Mode 1 on the way and will use this to assist in a solderless mode switch.
kgbester is offline Find More Posts by kgbester
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:00 PM
Registered User
Windsor, Canada, near Detroit
Joined Jul 2007
5,036 Posts
16 days

i ordered mine on the 5th and they shipped yesterday: 16 days is not too bad.
so the way to go is to pre-order and wait. and has not been in stock since.
phil alvirez is offline Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:03 PM
Warbird Fanatic
jchtr3a's Avatar
United States, PA, Coraopolis
Joined Jun 2012
274 Posts
I asked HK support about the as yet unreleased Turnigy Module for the 9XR. My question was whether it would be backwards compatible with rx's that the 9X could bind to. In particular the Turnigy 8 ch rx, FlySky 8 and 6 ch rx's, and the HK 6 ch v-2 rx. After some confusion about FlySky and Frsky was cleared up I got my answer, which would lead you to believe there will be more than one Turnigy module being released. One to work with the old 9x compatible rx's and one to work with the new 9xr rx's. Although it sounds as though they will be released in "phases". Here's my response----if you think I'm mistaken in how I interpret this, please let me know.






"Product Specialist


Hi John ,
Thanks for contacting the HobbyKing Support Team.

The same module will not, there will be at least 2 different versions of modules- one that would work with same receivers as current turnigy 9X and other- DSM compatible. Others may come at later phase.

I am sorry, I misread about the FlySky, there is no info if they will make such module for our radio as well.

Thanks for emailing support.
If you have any other questions, please let me know.
Regards.

HobbyKing Support Team
Dont forget to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for discounts and promotions! "
jchtr3a is offline Find More Posts by jchtr3a
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2005
258 Posts
That must be the most confusing clarification I have ever read.
FlySky is the manufacturer of the current radio system for 9x. As I read the answer there will certainly be a FlySky compatible module, but it is not certain that there will be a module made by FlySky.
Strange.
dvogonen is offline Find More Posts by dvogonen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:12 PM
Warbird Fanatic
jchtr3a's Avatar
United States, PA, Coraopolis
Joined Jun 2012
274 Posts
???

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvogonen View Post
That must be the most confusing clarification I have ever read.
FlySky is the manufacturer of the current radio system for 9x. As I read the answer there will certainly be a FlySky compatible module, but it is not certain that there will be a module made by FlySky.

Strange.

Me too. At first he thought I was asking about Frsky. So once I got that solved that was the answer I got. Still sounds like at least two modules are going to be made. Both I believe will take advantage of the internal antenna.
jchtr3a is offline Find More Posts by jchtr3a
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:13 PM
Registered User
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Oct 2010
1,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marhar View Post
It probably makes intuitive sense to the programmers, for whom "!THR" would be pronounced "not THR".
Yea, its obvious (sort of) for people familiar with coding practices, but not for 99% of the people using these.

They should change it to be -THR (negative symbol), meaning opposite, or NOT, what the other one is. I thing people familiar with "programming" devices (not coding) would find it easier. Most people understand what the "-" symbol implies.
KKUSA is offline Find More Posts by KKUSA
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:20 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, NB, Eindhoven
Joined Jan 2013
27 Posts
How to charge the dedicated 9XR battery with the 9XR?

Hi,

just got my 9XR today, and my battery (the one that HK released for it) is still somewhere in mid-air from HongKong, but I was wondering: how should I charge this battery once it arrives?

The 9XR has a 12V socket and my understanding is that the battery comes with some sort of balancing electronics, so I can just leave the battery inside the 9XR while charging. But how many amps should I charge it with?

(and yes: my 9XR has the little cracks, but as far as I can tell - I haven't really looked at it yet - these are only cosmetic. other than that, I'm happy: no creaking/rubbing when moving the gimbals around)

EDIT:

to answer my own question below, I found this on the HK website's in the product listing for the battery:

Quote:
Max charge rate: 1C (2.2amps)
Standard rate: 0.5c (1.1amps)
Is that my answer, or do the extra electronics in the battery mean things aren't as straight forward?
Knutsel is offline Find More Posts by Knutsel
Last edited by Knutsel; Jan 22, 2013 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Gens Ace, Turnigy, Turnigy Nano-Tech Sky lipo, etc. What's Your Preference? jlloyd1995 Batteries and Chargers 125 Jan 19, 2014 01:09 PM
Sold 2 turnigy motors 2 turnigy esc's crashnburn69 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 Oct 13, 2012 11:05 AM
For Sale Turnigy 2x 3s 1000 mah and 2s 1000 mah and Turnigy 2s/3s Lipo charger. Falconpunch Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 1 Mar 18, 2012 09:47 PM
Discussion Turnigy or Turnigy Nanotech lawguy14 Batteries and Chargers 4 Mar 15, 2012 08:48 AM