HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 04, 2013, 03:50 PM
chicken nuggets
Joined Aug 2011
226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dracozny View Post
the opening around the socket is not wide enough for the base of the pins to pass through. its been argued both ways as frsky's fault and flyskys fault for not sticking to JR specifications. the strange part is I saw a video of one guy putting his frsky (pretty sure it was the DJT) module in without issue during an unwrap video, both brand new devices. so maybe it's just hit or miss.
This was a similar issue with the old 9X V.2 (mode 2 module-less) from HK. A piece of moulding in the back around the contact pin's base prevented the module seating correctly.
However, it certainly is no fault of FrSky, as I compared the FrSky DJT pin socket dimensions to the pin socket on my genuine JR module and it is identical.
And guess what - the JR module would not fit in the 9X V.2 either ...
HeliHaven is offline Find More Posts by HeliHaven
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 04, 2013, 04:22 PM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,553 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovs View Post
I still don't understand why frsky has so much more range than dsmx.
Both have more range than you can see to fly your plane so it doesn't matter which has more range unless you are flying a 6 meter cross country sailplane at a mile out. Then in might matter, but still probably not.
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 04:37 PM
Registered User
gold coast
Joined Jan 2010
135 Posts
Is there a way to reset the 9xr to factory settings?

I've been playing with it and now I actually want to go back to the original settings and do the proper setup.. ( in regards to the radio settings ect, not model settings)
fantomphish is offline Find More Posts by fantomphish
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 04:38 PM
2Vision-Air
bakchos's Avatar
Canada, QC, Blainville
Joined Aug 2009
2,215 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantomphish View Post
Is there a way to reset the 9xr to factory settings?

I've been playing with it and now I actually want to go back to the original settings and do the proper setup.. ( in regards to the radio settings ect, not model settings)
did you backup the firmware ?
bakchos is online now Find More Posts by bakchos
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 04, 2013, 04:41 PM
Registered User
gold coast
Joined Jan 2010
135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos View Post
did you backup the firmware ?
Nope... :-/

It's not major, it would just be nice to start afresh again..
fantomphish is offline Find More Posts by fantomphish
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 04:48 PM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
2,015 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantomphish View Post
Is there a way to reset the 9xr to factory settings?

I've been playing with it and now I actually want to go back to the original settings and do the proper setup.. ( in regards to the radio settings ect, not model settings)
The settings are on the eeprom. So you can clear them by erasing the eeprom content using an avr programmer.

The radio will then prompt that it will be reinitializing eeprom on next bootup.

This will of course any models you may have created.
kha is offline Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 04:50 PM
KC
Registered Loiterer.
KC's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Sep 2006
4,110 Posts
The stock FW can be downloaded from the turnigy9xr.com site.

http://turnigy9xr.com/source/tgy-9XRv1-1.rar

Edit. Just make sure you backup the models before reflashing.
KC is offline Find More Posts by KC
Last edited by KC; Jan 04, 2013 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 05:04 PM
Flying a Chipmunk in Portugal
jhsa's Avatar
NRW, Germany
Joined Sep 2010
3,573 Posts
IMPORTANT. You will have to callibrate your sticks after that..
jhsa is online now Find More Posts by jhsa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 05:20 PM
Flying a Chipmunk in Portugal
jhsa's Avatar
NRW, Germany
Joined Sep 2010
3,573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus66 View Post
Couldn't agree more. At our flight school, we have to tell some students to stop messing around with the distractions of telemetry and focus on learning to fly. Telemetry doesn't replace the need for a simple timer to remind you when to land!
I do agree with you only if someone is learning and still doesn't know what he/she is doing..
Otherwise you can rely on telemetry to know when to land. Actually much more than on a timer...
I still use the timer as a backup, but I don't really pay attention to it anymore.
If you fly electric, factors like the way you're flying, temperature, etc, affects how long you can fly. A correctly set low battery alarm is much, much better IMO.
But that's me.
P.S. - And if your radio is voice capable than it's funtastic
jhsa is online now Find More Posts by jhsa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 05:29 PM
Tassie Electric, Heli, Glider
ChrisJ800's Avatar
Hobart, Australia
Joined Oct 2002
2,641 Posts
Just found this vid that shows it with the orangerx module in place:

Turnigy 9xr with orangerx dsm2 (0 min 36 sec)


That aerial sure looks vulnerable!
ChrisJ800 is offline Find More Posts by ChrisJ800
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 05:33 PM
Proud to eat Kraut ;-)
Julez's Avatar
Germany
Joined Dec 2003
5,374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by unzan View Post
If 9XR centering lever is same as 9X,you can use this parts.
http://rctanksaustralia.com/shop/ind...roducts_id=125
Quote:
Originally Posted by RHTizzy View Post
Not sure if this will fit the 9xr but for the 9x I used a bit of plastic cutting board and a dremel to copy the existing lever... most difficult part was finding the correct thickness so I didn't need too much work to grind it down.
Thank you both very much! I once worked as a precision mechanic, so I think I will give the DIY approach a shot.
Should that fail, I will buy that thing from Australia.
Julez is offline Find More Posts by Julez
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 06:21 PM
Helli
WindCatcher's Avatar
Poland, Dolnoslaskie, Wroclaw
Joined Jan 2013
72 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisJ800 View Post
Just found this vid that shows it with the orangerx module in place:

That aerial sure looks vulnerable!

Hello to All of you.

Is it possible to find and attach a module for this new 9xr radio to connect to Walkera helis ? V120D02S, Genius, Mini...

Which module would work with them?

Thanks for your help
WindCatcher is offline Find More Posts by WindCatcher
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 06:30 PM
Registered User
United States, OR
Joined Jan 2013
63 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WindCatcher View Post
Hello to All of you.

Is it possible to find and attach a module for this new 9xr radio to connect to Walkera helis ? V120D02S, Genius, Mini...

Which module would work with them?

Thanks for your help
?maybe this might give you some ideas? seems like there is no module that is available without some serious hacking.
http://9xforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=362
dracozny is offline Find More Posts by dracozny
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 07:26 PM
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2011
1,625 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
I don't know what you mean by "any chance to see what's required"??

HERE is the MCX male right angle to U.fl pigtail, I have asked for shorter one.
cheers that link is all I needed. thanks
ckleanth is offline Find More Posts by ckleanth
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2013, 07:41 PM
hjukhjuk
gooby's Avatar
United States, FL
Joined Feb 2012
1,066 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeajr View Post
Both have more range than you can see to fly your plane so it doesn't matter which has more range unless you are flying a 6 meter cross country sailplane at a mile out. Then in might matter, but still probably not.
If I just did regular flying, I wouldn't hesitate to use DSM2 or DSMX for all my planes. With FPV under 2.5km, the most popular choice is frsky, and dsm is not recommended. I asked why frsky has more range in the frsky thread and I was told that their receivers are much more sensitive.

I still haven't seen real proof if that is true or not.
gooby is offline Find More Posts by gooby
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Gens Ace, Turnigy, Turnigy Nano-Tech Sky lipo, etc. What's Your Preference? jlloyd1995 Batteries and Chargers 130 Nov 07, 2014 05:55 PM
Sold 2 turnigy motors 2 turnigy esc's crashnburn69 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 Oct 13, 2012 12:05 PM
For Sale Turnigy 2x 3s 1000 mah and 2s 1000 mah and Turnigy 2s/3s Lipo charger. Falconpunch Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 1 Mar 18, 2012 10:47 PM
Discussion Turnigy or Turnigy Nanotech lawguy14 Batteries and Chargers 4 Mar 15, 2012 09:48 AM