HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 06, 2012, 05:13 PM
Registered User
asaak's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
143 Posts
Question
what to use : telemetry with APM 2.0?

Hi guys!

I am using 1.2 Ghz for video FPV. I am planning to buy a Hitec Aurora 9 2.4 Ghz and I want to have telemetry on my APM 2.0 to display it on happykillmore's and be able to send commands to the plane. What frequency do I have to use? 900 Mhz?? Will this interfere with video 1.2Ghz and RC 2.4 Ghz?

If not use a Xbee telemetry Kit from diy drones, is there another way to have this kind of telemetry?

Thanks!
asaak is offline Find More Posts by asaak
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 06, 2012, 06:13 PM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,008 Posts
The 900 MHz telemetry kit from DIY Drones makes it so easy. It’s just plug and play and it’s a two-way link. I have not tried other telemetry systems.
RC Man is offline Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2012, 09:51 PM
Chris Anderson
San Francisco/Bay Area
Joined Mar 2007
924 Posts
Check out the new DIY Drones 3DR radio kit. Half the price of the Xbee kit ($75) and much better performance. Comes in 915 and 433Mhz.

http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/...lemetry-system
zlite is offline Find More Posts by zlite
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 01:10 AM
Registered User
asaak's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
143 Posts
Wouldn't it be too many antennas for a small plane? Video, rc, telemetry...I heard there is a way to use the audio channel of the video link to transmitt data.Is it possible?
asaak is offline Find More Posts by asaak
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2012, 09:16 AM
Burt KF7ULM
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined May 2007
89 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by asaak View Post
Hi guys!

I am using 1.2 Ghz for video FPV. I am planning to buy a Hitec Aurora 9 2.4 Ghz and I want to have telemetry on my APM 2.0 to display it on happykillmore's and be able to send commands to the plane. What frequency do I have to use? 900 Mhz?? Will this interfere with video 1.2Ghz and RC 2.4 Ghz?

If not use a Xbee telemetry Kit from diy drones, is there another way to have this kind of telemetry?

Thanks!
I have almost the same setup on my plane, Hitec A9 2.4, APM 1, Xbee telemetry, and last 1.2 Ghz video.

Be sure that you have a filter like this on the 1.2 Ghz transmitter Low Pass Filter for 1.3GHz Antennas
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...jen5m2n45rt7r2

I started with the 900Mh xbee and didn't have a problem with control. When I added the 1.2 Ghz transmitter I would get a few control problems. Then on one flight I would see the APM telemetry show flight modes change from Auto to RTH as flight plan was getting about 500 ft away. ( RTH was set as failsafe).

I started by moving the 1.2 transmitter as far away as possable from the Hitec receiver and adding a torriod ring to the transmitter power. I still had the gliches.
Adding the filter, I dont seem to have any gliches anymore, any have been out to 2500 ft.
burtgree is online now Find More Posts by burtgree
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 04:51 AM
Registered User
asaak's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
143 Posts
If I use a long range system with a tx/rx system using 433Mz like drangonlink or thomas....if the telemetry uses this same frequency..is it going to interfere or the systems to avoid interferences of the two systems are going to prevent this to happen?
asaak is offline Find More Posts by asaak
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2012, 05:07 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,008 Posts
What are all the legal frequencies that I can use for TM in the US? With all the international shipping sometimes it’s hard to know what to purchase?
RC Man is offline Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 06:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
32 Posts
900Mhz is fine in the US, many older cordless phones (land lines) used that frequency. If your super serious it may be worth getting an amateur radio operators license (HAM).
UADan is offline Find More Posts by UADan
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 10:07 AM
Registered User
Solihull, England
Joined Jun 2004
936 Posts
I use 2.4GHz Xbee's and 2.4GHz RC gear with the APM 2.0 (and the APM 1) and have not had a problem. Both can co-exist together. What cannot co-exist with 2.4GHZ RC etc. is 2.4GHz video.

Peter
Peter Seddon is offline Find More Posts by Peter Seddon
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 12:30 AM
Mark Harrison
USA, CA, Piedmont
Joined Jun 2010
1,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zlite View Post
Check out the new DIY Drones 3DR radio kit. Half the price of the Xbee kit ($75) and much better performance. Comes in 915 and 433Mhz.

http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/...lemetry-system
I've just received mine and so far is working well. I've got a writeup and some pics here:

http://eastbay-rc.blogspot.com/2012/...mhz-radio.html
marhar is offline Find More Posts by marhar
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 01:59 AM
AMA 937634
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Jan 2010
1,558 Posts
The 433MHz 3DR's are still listed as backorder though they have 66 in stock.

It looks as though they're working on an interference issues with the USB interface.

-Mike
Stone1295 is offline Find More Posts by Stone1295
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted APM 2.0 or Black Vortex Goanna Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 2 Oct 09, 2012 04:15 PM
Question What the of Plugs does Spektrum Telemetry Use ? dlovett Radios 3 May 28, 2012 03:56 PM
Discussion APM 2.0 vs DJI NAZA? Harrison256 Multirotor Talk 26 May 03, 2012 10:13 AM
Sold Brand New in box APM 2.0 Purple barrelheaven FPV Equipment (FS/W) 5 Feb 16, 2012 01:37 AM
Wanted ArduPilot APM 2.0 - Sell me yours a make a few bucks! wingspinner Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Jan 04, 2012 01:41 PM