HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 05, 2012, 07:47 AM
Australia, QLD, Cairns
Joined Mar 2012
12 Posts
Question
Muticopters for Videographers

I'm looking at the possibility of building or buying a quadcopter or hexacopter, but unlike most people here I am not coming at this as a hobby in itself. I want to learn to fly simply as a platform for video.

I've been reading these forums for about a month now, and seen some footage I'd be proud of, but most of it is not up to the standards I'm aiming for.

The odd thing is that some of the good footage has come from what appear to be fairly inexpensive multicopters.

I'm an electronics engineer and quite enjoy building things, so I'd prefer to build something, but I'm still struggling with understanding some of the options available.

I understand a picloc or similar will be required as even the most stable copters seem to roll quite a lot.

So my main questions:

1/ How hard are these to fly, bearing in mind I don't want to dedicate my life to it? I have a couple of cheap coaxial helicopters that I have no problems flying, but I am having quite a lot of difficulty with a normal helicopter on a simulator (Reflex), although I've only been practicing on the sim for a couple of hours so far.

2/ Secondly, the multicopter control boards seem to vary massively in price, from less that $20 up to hundreds. In what ways are the expensive ones better? Is there a path of starting with a cheap board to minimize my risk and then upgrade when I'm confident I can fly it properly?

3/ What is the best size (frame and motors) capable of lifting a dSLR? Perhaps someone can point me to some build threads of the sort of thing I'd need to aim for.

I'm basically trying to determine if the effort I'd need to put into this is going to be too much for the final result. I have a friend who is into copters (his main one is a large T-Rex), but not multis, and he can't answer my questions about them.