HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 03, 2012, 04:53 PM
Joined Mar 2012
87 Posts
Help!
Easystar II - which version?

Hello!

I have decided that my first plane will be the Easystar II. At first I decided to get the RTF version that comes with the radio that looks like an Xbox controller.
But then I changed my mind and bought another radio. But I still don't have the plane.

I've got two options, I could either get the RR version but I would have to wait for 1 month+ to get it. Or I could get a version that comes with the motor and speed controller (I think that is what it's called), and buy servos and assemble it all.
I have never done that before so I don't know if it is hard. is it easy to break something?

I don't know anyone who is flying rc planes so I will not get any help when assembling or at the first flight.

Thank you in advance.
kjur is offline Find More Posts by kjur
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 03, 2012, 05:29 PM
Flying from Vic Park
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined May 2011
2,275 Posts
I know lots of people will disagree but if it is your first plane and you do not have an experienced RC pilot to check it over before you fly buying a plane that needs a lot of assembly is just asking for failure.

Get the RTF and swap out the Tx/Rx if you want to use a different Tx or buy a PnP version it will make you life a lot easy for your first few flights.
Great_Goose is offline Find More Posts by Great_Goose
Old Apr 03, 2012, 08:01 PM
United States, MI, Macomb
Joined Apr 2009
2,516 Posts
The best way to buy the EZ is as a kit and install your own equipment. BUT, and thats a big BUT, if you have not had much expierience in the hobby you will have a difficult time assenbling one from a kit.

The advantage of the kit is that it comes in two pieces and gives you the oppertunity to run extra wires if you decide to go with a brushless motor. You may not even know what that means.