HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 03, 2012, 12:45 PM
Joined Apr 2012
83 Posts
Question
Thinking of building my first quad

Hello forum!

I want to enter the world of RC multicopters, the whole thing is very interesting to me. After spending the last 3 days reading some of the build logs and multicopter 101s, I thought I'd start by building a cheap quad by myself (I'm thinking 200-350). The problem here is that I have no experience whatsoever with building an RC toy, let alone one that flies (a friend agreed to help me with an occasional problem). Gotta start somewhere I guess.

The wealth of information on this forum is more than enough to thoroughly confuse me . There are so many different combinations that I don't know what to choose. I wrote some things down and I'd like some advice before actually ordering anything.

Here goes:

Please tell me what you think of it, and definitely suggest improvements. As I said, I have no idea what I'm doing (for now). Along with these components, what else do I need to build a quad? Wires, pins, Tx/Rx, propellers (what am I looking for? 10x4.5?) and a LiPo?

Is MultiWii the way to go? Are there better and cheaper solutions out there? Thanks for any help in advance.
Marvos is offline Find More Posts by Marvos
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 03, 2012, 12:52 PM
You sabotaged my plane.
Arizona
Joined Jun 2002
2,824 Posts
Hello,
I'm in the same boat as you. I still have alot to learn about Quads although I have two flying now. Check out http://www.blueskyrc.com/ for some reasonable frames. I have thier Quad and have been flying it for a few weeks without any issues.
Jim
eliworm is offline Find More Posts by eliworm
Old Apr 03, 2012, 01:09 PM
Quad lover.
Joined Dec 2011
853 Posts
Arduino nano v3 is much easier to setup as you don't need to mess with FTDI.
chaosdestro0 is offline Find More Posts by chaosdestro0
Old Apr 03, 2012, 02:00 PM
Joined Apr 2012
83 Posts
Thanks for the replies.