HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:25 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Anaheim
Joined Dec 2011
400 Posts
ok, will the Turnigy Stock Plush 30a esc work with the Naza with just the WHITE wire connected? WIll it work with ALL THREE wires connected? Do I have to reflash the esc. Just trying to get an answer here.
shdwkeeper is offline Find More Posts by shdwkeeper
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:34 AM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
SDSURFnGLIDE's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,385 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwkeeper View Post
ok, will the Turnigy Stock Plush 30a esc work with the Naza with just the WHITE wire connected? WIll it work with ALL THREE wires connected? Do I have to reflash the esc. Just trying to get an answer here.
I never used turnigy esc's so i can't speak to that...was using 30a rctimers stock...and those worked just fine...i actually just rebuilt mine with some Simon k 30a ipeaka esc's...they run up pretty well...i haven't removed the red wire yet...gonna do that tomorrow...

But on the turnigys...you should be fine...
SDSURFnGLIDE is offline Find More Posts by SDSURFnGLIDE
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:40 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Anaheim
Joined Dec 2011
400 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
I never used turnigy esc's so i can't speak to that...was using 30a rctimers stock...and those worked just fine...i actually just rebuilt mine with some Simon k 30a ipeaka esc's...they run up pretty well...i haven't removed the red wire yet...gonna do that tomorrow...

But on the turnigys...you should be fine...
OK, so the NAZA only requires the white wire than from the esc? On the CopterControl board I had to leave the red wire on one of the escs
shdwkeeper is offline Find More Posts by shdwkeeper
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:18 AM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwkeeper View Post
OK, so the NAZA only requires the white wire than from the esc? On the CopterControl board I had to leave the red wire on one of the escs
You might need ground as well, but just leave the red wire disconnected. You don't want the ESC's BECs fighting against the Naza VU (BEC)
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:43 AM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
SDSURFnGLIDE's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,385 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
You might need ground as well, but just leave the red wire disconnected. You don't want the ESC's BECs fighting against the Naza VU (BEC)
I'm sure having the ground is a good idea...but i didn't have mine plugged in and never had any issues
SDSURFnGLIDE is offline Find More Posts by SDSURFnGLIDE
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:53 AM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
I'm sure having the ground is a good idea...but i didn't have mine plugged in and never had any issues
If it works without the ground I'd leave that disconnected as well then. That way no risk of ground loops.
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 10:13 AM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
SDSURFnGLIDE's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,385 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
If it works without the ground I'd leave that disconnected as well then. That way no risk of ground loops.
Yep
SDSURFnGLIDE is offline Find More Posts by SDSURFnGLIDE
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:33 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Anaheim
Joined Dec 2011
400 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
Yep
thanks you guys. I will remove the RED and BLACK and leave the White Signal wire and give it a shot.
shdwkeeper is offline Find More Posts by shdwkeeper
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 12:21 PM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
SDSURFnGLIDE's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,385 Posts
Also if you want just take the plastic off completely and put some shrink wrap around the end of the signal wire...works real nice...then tape back the other two
SDSURFnGLIDE is offline Find More Posts by SDSURFnGLIDE
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:03 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Anaheim
Joined Dec 2011
400 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
Also if you want just take the plastic off completely and put some shrink wrap around the end of the signal wire...works real nice...then tape back the other two
I just remove the pins out of the plastic using a small screwdriver leave the white pin in there.
shdwkeeper is offline Find More Posts by shdwkeeper
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:40 AM
Multi rotors=No Paycheck left
SDSURFnGLIDE's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
3,385 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shdwkeeper View Post
I just remove the pins out of the plastic using a small screwdriver leave the white pin in there.
Yep that works too...
SDSURFnGLIDE is offline Find More Posts by SDSURFnGLIDE
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 07:33 PM
Just Starting..
Joined Oct 2012
13 Posts
No it is all 5.8 - and I am in a very populated area so there may be a lot
of interference. Was gone over the holiday break - but I have managed
to get a GoPro mounted - attached is more boring backyard video but
l have to say I am happy with the results of the GoPro and some moongel
Now if I could just figure this
EagleTree stuff out and get the GPS lock that would be cool!!!
(any pointers on how to make the sticks a little less sensitive would be
welcome - still very new to it all)
Also thinking about moving the vTX system to its own battery... but that will
add more weight and lower my flight time..... I do have it filtered on a 3s
battery pack...

Here is the HD vid:
First HD FPV backyard flight (5 min 20 sec)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Exploding Fist View Post
Kosmos are you using 1.2Ghz vTX?
Kosmos is offline Find More Posts by Kosmos
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 07:39 PM
Just Starting..
Joined Oct 2012
13 Posts
Cool site!! Jealous - I need to get out of the backyard.....
(heavy sigh... perhaps this weekend...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
Hi guys,

I found a new flying site and had a blast over the weekend FPVing. Here's some of the highlights. About a third of the footage was on my HT-FPV frame, the rest was a HT-450.

[snip] video url [/snip]
Kosmos is offline Find More Posts by Kosmos
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 10:06 PM
Radd Graduate '06
Mochaboy's Avatar
United States, MA, Sudbury
Joined Aug 2006
1,820 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kosmos View Post
(any pointers on how to make the sticks a little less sensitive would be
welcome - still very new to it all)
Add exponential to your roll channel on your transmitter in 5% increments starting at 5%.

As for the GPS - are you talking about the GPS expander hooked up to a v4 logger?
Mochaboy is offline Find More Posts by Mochaboy
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:31 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kosmos View Post
Cool site!! Jealous - I need to get out of the backyard.....
(heavy sigh... perhaps this weekend...)
Looks like your ready to rip. Here's part 2 on a foggy day. Fog shots were on my HT-FPV, the rest was on my HT-450. Thanks Tom for making awesome frames.

In the Fog (3 min 40 sec)
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Show Us Your Ground Station !!!! FPV Ground Station Design and Idea's found here :) JettPilot FPV Equipment 4080 Yesterday 09:14 PM
Discussion Show us your FPV Multicopter Derek_S FPV Talk 194 Feb 08, 2013 12:07 PM
Discussion FPV Successful? Show us setup and parts list Royalson FPV Talk 0 Mar 10, 2012 08:25 AM
Discussion Show us your FPV / RVP ground Base set up in action Trackercal FPV Talk 94 Nov 05, 2010 10:21 AM
Discussion Show Us Your FPV Helo Set Up Trackercal FPV Talk 2 May 11, 2009 11:05 PM