HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 24, 2003, 09:04 AM
UK
Joined Oct 2003
1 Posts
best GWS plane for newbie

Hi guys
As I say I am a newbie, I fly slope glider (still learning) but would like to have a go at electric park flyers.
Which plane would you recommand to start with?
I must admit I just love the TM, but I suppose the SS or the starter would not be bad either.
Can I have your opignion?
How does these planes fly in a bit of wind? I live in south UK and no wind days are rare...
Could these handle 10mph of wind?
I notice as well on GWS website that you can get different motors: IPS or 280 (for the TM)?
What difference and which one to go for?
Thanks for your help
A future GWS addict...
Mikael
navrog is offline Find More Posts by navrog
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 24, 2003, 09:54 AM
Does anyone hear a cat?
Tallahassee, FL
Joined Sep 2003
4,380 Posts
e-starter can handle 10mph winds, though flying into it will be pretty slow -- tm would not, slow stick would be hard pressed and would get blown around ALOT

I'd get an e-starter if you have previous R/C experience. It's a good trainer and can do some basic aerobatics with a decent motor. Don't get IPS system or 280 speed motors... they are not going to work outside in any wind. The new e-starters come with a gws 350c motor. That motor with the GWS 8 cell 9.6.v 730mAh NimH packs will fly it pretty well... i can do loops, rolls, fly around inverted, etc. even in 5mph-10mph winds (just gotta be careful )
headless is offline Find More Posts by headless
Old Oct 24, 2003, 09:56 AM
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,520 Posts
The slow stick is the best starter plane IMHO. It will get bounced a bit by 10mph winds. Get some training help and you will learn in no time and be able to pick a second airplane for windy days.

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 24, 2003, 12:09 PM
AMA 353531
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Aug 2003
6,564 Posts