HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 02, 2012, 09:00 AM
Joined Sep 2011
127 Posts
Discussion
Crashed the plane. What went wrong?!

I've got a Wild Hawk, completely stock, that I've been flying around for about the past 7 months. I've gotten pretty good with it, and only have a small amount of hot glue, tooth picks and tape on it. However, yesterday was my worst accident yet with it!

First off, the video of what happened from the plane:

RC Plane Crash! (4 min 32 sec)

Jump to about 2:45 or so in the video to see where it starts.

I was playing around with the plane, after having just launched it for the first time that day. I flew it the day before, and had no problems, so I wasn't at all worried for yesterday. It started out fine, and I had no problems with it as well. I brought it up to a decent height (probably around 300' or so). I decided to take it into a steep nose dive, and then pull up near the ground. However, as it picked up some pretty good speed, I tried to pull up, and it failed to do so, simply rotating slightly, pulling a bit of the nose up, and slamming into the ground!

Thankfully (and surprisingly!), the plane only broke into a few pieces, and I've already gotten it put back together, and am waiting for a calmer evening in the next few days to make sure it still flies nicely. But, I'd like to try to figure out what I did wrong, before doing it again!

When I went to rummage through the carnage after the crash, I noticed that the tubing that surrounds the servo's control arm for the elevator had separated from the body channel of the plane. I thought it was probably due to the crash itself, but now I'm wondering if that wasn't part of the accident itself. All I can come up with is one of three explanations for the crash:

1) The plane picked up too much sped, and the elevator itself wasn't capable of overcoming the speed of the plane to be able to level itself back out.