HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 01, 2012, 05:06 PM
United States, VA, Sterling
Joined Mar 2012
222 Posts
Discussion
Help me with purchasing sail plane

Hello Folks,
I do not have whole lot of experience flying RC planes so please bear with me if I put up a stupid question.

I am looking to get a sail plane so I could go to near by parks with my little one and have some fun flying a RC plane. I have decided to get a sail plane rather then other things thinking they might be more stable and give more fly time as I am a beginner.

I have narrowed my hunt to two sail planes, can someone educate me and help me do a comparison of it.

one is
http://www.nitroplanes.com/60a-dy892...185-24ghz.html

the other is

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...F_Mode_1_.html

Can anyone point out any major differences in them? and comment on which one is better?

Thanks,
sahil80 is offline Find More Posts by sahil80
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 01, 2012, 05:20 PM
United Kingdom, England, Dorset
Joined Apr 2010
973 Posts
If you can already fly (and so won't be going nose in so as to need a bixler-type pusher), your best plane would be a Radian 1.
alibongo is offline Find More Posts by alibongo
Old Apr 01, 2012, 05:35 PM
Gravity-Compliant User
Nebraska USA
Joined Mar 2008
1,450 Posts
Both of those planes are very similar - the main difference I can see is the Sky Climber is larger with a lower wing loading, which gives it a little higher mark in my book for the same or similar price.

I have a larger version of the Dynam Sonic, the Diamond 2500, which is very nice. I also have a Parkzone Radian that alibongo mentioned, and I would tend to agree with him that it would probably be a better starter plane, as it is well proven, simpler (no ailerons), and easy to fly (and spare parts are readily available).