SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 01, 2012, 03:12 PM
Joined Jan 2004
257 Posts
Discussion
Slash 4x4 SVU with VXL-3s

So I got an ultimate and got it out there. On the second battery the ESC started smoking. Traxxas is going to repair it which is good but here is my question. I am new to these trucks and I swear I don't remember the truck not rolling when pushed by hand, but since that smoke incident, I cannot push the truck by hand. It just skids. When I spin the rear wheels, two rear wheels spin and same for front.

Is my motor shot or locked up too? Or is this normal?

Thanks for any advice or help you can offer!
KiTCyclic is offline Find More Posts by KiTCyclic
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 01, 2012, 04:39 PM
Outdoor Extremist
Pennsylvania
Joined Jul 2010
1,006 Posts
I just smoked my esc saturday but I am not sure about this, ponder and research this I will
rustlererad3 is offline Find More Posts by rustlererad3
Old Apr 01, 2012, 06:23 PM
Joined Jan 2004
257 Posts
after removing the motor I was able to turn it with a pair of pliers. It is slowly loosening back up, what does this indicate?
Old Apr 01, 2012, 09:52 PM
Canada, ON, Whitby
Joined Aug 2008
8,901 Posts
I would bet that the reason the ESC fried was the motor seizing up, not the other way around.

Did it get wet? I would flush the motor with electrical cleaner and oil the bearings to see if that helps. If it doesn't, its possible that the rotor came apart and is rubbing on the stator. If its the latter, the motor is likely 100% toast.
wparsons is offline Find More Posts by wparsons
Old Apr 02, 2012, 05:03 AM
Joined Jan 2004
257 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wparsons View Post
I would bet that the reason the ESC fried was the motor seizing up, not the other way around.