SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 01, 2012, 03:15 AM
Joined Apr 2012
85 Posts
Discussion
Wow I am lost. Champ batteries and charger help?

Hello everyone, I'm completely new to the world of R/C flying. I've had some crappy air hogs in the past (don't laugh at me) but was never serious until now. I just ordered the HobbyZone Champ and I anticipate some serious fun but I probably won't go much further than this. I might end up with small upgrades but I don't have the time or money to commit past that.

I have read the stickies on batteries but that information is extremely in depth and way over my head as well as level. I have read and read but still have so many questions but instead of really trying to understand everything I would just like help understanding my champ and some options for it.

I don't like the idea of charging from batteries so I'd like an A/C charger. Do I just buy a cable for my charger or do I need another one all together? (Champ gets here next Tuesday so I haven't examined it myself). I also want an extra battery or two because sub-10 minute flight times will leave me wanting more. But searching on that topic results in people talking about batteries that require modding and tearing apart the plane and/or charger and I just don't think I'm ready for that.

I want to stay very simple for now so what simple A/C charger would be good and what batteries are compatible with my champ, maybe with higher capacity but requiring no mods? Thanks for helping out a noob!
stevenator128 is offline Find More Posts by stevenator128
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 01, 2012, 07:43 AM
Canada, ON, Stouffville
Joined Nov 2011
71 Posts
Welcome to the sport....And you are a better man than me if you can just buy a champ and never get tempted by all the fun stuff at the LHS

In the champ manual, they mention an optional charger:

EFLC1004AC. Celectra 4-Port Charger with AC Adapter