HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 31, 2012, 10:47 PM
Joined Mar 2012
95 Posts
Discussion
Balsa USA Stick 40 Plus--Gas or electric?

I am a 57 yr old newbie who dabbled in RC 20 yrs ago. I didn't stay in long enough to really learn a lot. Now I'm kinda sorta retired and determined to do this right this time.
I have joined a local club and the AMA. I have a 2m sailplane that with the help of a friend I'm installing a motor and stuff to go with it. I've had the sailplane for 10+ years and never flew it. I have a 14 yr old Futaba 4NBF radio system that I plan to install. The Futaba I bought new and it only flew once many years ago. I'm replacing all the batteries of course. My intentions are to learn to fly using the powered sailplane. I either have all the stuff (or ordered) required to fly the sailplane.

All that brings me to the title of this post---I have a Balsa USA Stick 40 Plus that I started a long time ago and never finished. I have an OS .46SFH engine I traded for many years ago. It started life as a heli engine but I put an airplane head on it. (still have the heli head) After I learn a bit about how to fly and doing it without damaging my sailplane I'd like to finish this Stick 40 and learn to fly 4 channel. I don't yet know enough about glow to electric conversions, is it a costly endeavor to use electric on this Stick 40? Or just stick with the .46?
Beemerider is offline Find More Posts by Beemerider
Last edited by Beemerider; Mar 31, 2012 at 11:48 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 01, 2012, 01:30 AM
United States, MA, Waltham
Joined Dec 2001
7,133 Posts
How well do you get along with glo engines? Any noise issues at your flying site? Will you always wear earplugs? If not, are you willing to put on a special muffler? Do you mind cleaning castor oil off your plane?